My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Pursuit: Day 1

on March 5, 2012

Like many middle aged women, I’m not completely satisfied with my body – its shape, size and weight all have room for improvement.  So, I’m going to make a real effort to change it.  To kick start to this change, in a moment of weakness or insanity, I agreed to sign up for a half marathon with my sister.  I’ve completed 3 half marathons in the past and even ran a full marathon the year I turned 40, but due to an injury I got while training for the full marathon, I have hardly ran at all since.  I’m not really convinced that I’m a runner – I’ve got short legs and have no gazelle-like qualities when I run, but I’m going to make a real effort to make this my best half yet.  So, I’ve got to train, eat well, get some decent sleep, and learn to love running again.

To help in my training, I’ve found a program that looks like I will actually be able to stick to.  It’s Trish Blackwell’s 12 week “Couch to Half Marathon” program.  I was poking around the app store looking for running related app and stumbled across hers.  I’m hoping that the whopping $1.99 I paid for the app may be the best deal I have ever gotten.  Her program looks like it starts slow, which I will need since I haven’t run in about 4.5 years, and progresses at a realistic pace for someone who has been sitting on the couch for way too long.

The best part of the program is that Day 1 is a rest day.  Gotta love that!  The real challenge starts tomorrow.  I’m scheduled to run 2 miles and do a core workout.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

2 responses to “The Pursuit: Day 1

  1. […] the March 5th date as my absolute deadline as it will mark a year since I began my official Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans.  And losing 5 pounds will make it a total of 20lbs lost in a year.  I’ve been stalled […]

    Like

  2. […] realized the other day that I missed my 2 year blogiversary.  March 4, 2012 was my first post.  At that point, I wasn’t “public” yet. I hadn’t shared my blog or linked it to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

