My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Pursuit: Day 2

on March 6, 2012

So, today was the day that training actually started. My alarm was set for 6:10am and I woke up before it went off. I think I was actually excited about officially starting the program and couldn’t sleep! I hauled myself out of bed, got dressed and ready to run. I was planning on watching a tv program on my iPad while I ran, so I put my contacts in. I was not nervous about running or sad about being up so early. My biggest concern was how long my contacts were going to be in today! I have a hockey game tonight at 9:30pm, which means the contacts won’t come out until close to 11…which will probably mean some dry itchy eyes later in the day…but given I have a hard enough time picking up a pass when I can see, taking the contacts out early and going to hockey with naked eyes is not an option!

All right…so I’m up, dressed, armed with entertainment and water, and down to the treadmill I go. Eventually I will take my running outside, but seeing as it’s winter and cold where I am, I’ll wait for the temperature to rise just a bit before I head outside. My “Couch to Half Marathon” schedule has me doing a 2 mile run plus a core workout. For anyone who considers themselves a runner, a 2 mile run must seem like such a joke. But, for someone who is just getting back into it, I’ve gotta say that 2 miles was just about perfect. I’m by no means a speed demon, so I set my pace at 5.5 miles per hour, found the show I was going to watch (New Girl – the valentine’s episode), and I was off.

Roughly 23 minutes and I was done the 2 miles. It wasn’t easy, I’m pretty out of shape, but I did it. I was happy to be done the run, but then realized I still had to do the core workout. Thankfully it only took a few minutes to complete 2 circuits of 12 lunges per leg, 15 hip bridges, 5 push ups (no, that is not a typo..only 5 push ups – yay!!), 15 crunches and 15 reverse crunches. It wasn’t much, but it was by no means easy. I was huffing and puffing and grunting and groaning, but I did it, and felt it, so hopefully that means I did it right!

Normally I dread the run, no matter how short. Today I can honestly say that I really didn’t mind it at all. I’m not going to say that I loved it, but not hating it is a big improvement for me. I’m trying to be more positive about things in my life. Recently I attended a seminar through my golf league where the speaker talked about what an important role the mental side of your game plays. It was a great session and while the talk related to golf, the whole time I was there I kept thinking about how I could apply this to my running as well. I’ll get into the details of that session more in another post, but I’m happy to say that I really think it might help me as I train for and run the Half.

So, Day 2 is in the books! Day 3 tomorrow is only a 2 mile run. I’m almost looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

