My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Missed a Run, and I Liked it!!!

on March 11, 2012

Well, I hate to say it, but I missed my first training run today.  I had good intentions of running my scheduled 3.5 miles after I came off the slopes this afternoon, but the sun was shining, friends were laughing, and the beer was flowing….a bad combination!  Well, actually it was a great combination, just a bad one for running.  I have accepted it. I knew it would be a challenge to get the runs in while on vacation, and turns out I was right.

The beer wins.  It was just too nice on the patio to pack it in and go for a run….plus we had to wait for our room to be ready, which just meant we had time for one more beer while we waited!  So, I’m modifying my schedule and taking today as my “rest day” and will get up early tomorrow and run those  pesky 3.5 miles BEFORE I hit the slopes.

While I may not have run today, that doesn’t mean I didn’t get a good workout in.  We are at Okemo Mountain in Ludlow, VT and we skied this afternoon as a bonus today, since our official lift ticket doesn’t start until tomorrow.  It was very warm out – 56 degrees Fahrenheit, that’s a little over 13 degrees Celcius for my fellow Canadians – which meant the snow was very soft and at times hard to get through as it had the texture of mashed potatoes. It was a good leg workout, that’s for sure. There were times when I could really feel the burn!

So, the plan for tomorrow:  run 3.5 miles at the crack of dawn, ski like crazy in the morning while the snow is still in fairly good shape, then  switch to the snowboard after lunch when things are likely to get pretty soft again. I hope my legs can take it!

Leave a Reply

