My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

She’s Got Legs…and they’re very, very tired!

on March 13, 2012

We hit the hill just before 9am and skied and boarded like crazy before the sun and heat turned the hill to mush. I was on my snowboard this morning, and for the first time, tackled the whole hill with the rest of the gang. I was quite pleased that I could board the black diamonds and all the good runs that I normally do on my skis. I’m still relatively new to this whole snowboarding thing, and don’t like to get going too fast or get out of control. I’m very nervous about taking a big wipeout and really hurting myself. I don’t bounce back quite like I used to. As the body gets older, recovery takes quite a bit longer and the aches and pains take more out of me.

My quads were burning like mad as we came down that last run that seemed to go on for miles as we made our way back across the mountain to our condo base. I had a great morning “shredding” all over the mountain, and made it back in one piece, with a pair of legs that felt like jello.

I decided not to go back out after lunch, but rest my legs for a bit before I went back to the fitness centre to get my run in. I was able to get a treadmill and managed to complete the 2 mile run. Man, we’re my legs tired. I had to stop and walk a few times (which frustrates the heck out of me), but I got them done. I also did the core workout that was part of today’s schedule:  a circuit of 5 push ups, 20 walking lunges, 20 hip raises, and 5 more push ups, completed twice.

I was so happy to get to the end of today’s workout!  It was such a short run and I’m disappointed that I still can’t run the whole thing yet.  Hopefully it’s just the fact that my legs are doing double duty each day with the skiing/snowboarding and the running on top of it that I can’t run non-stop yet. Hopefully when I get back home and it’s only the running I will be able to run some of these shorter runs straight through.

I’m writing this as I sit at the bottom of the hill, enjoying some sunshine and waiting for the rest of the gang to come off the hill.  I came straight out from my run, so I’m just in shorts and a t-shirt and it is so warm. That won’t do good things to the snow on the mountain, but it sure is nice to relax and catch a few rays!

Enjoying some post run sunshine!

Tonight we are having dinner with the whole group of family and friends that we are skiing with. It’s pulled pork for 23!  There will be bodies scattered all over the condo, but it should be a fun get together with more than a few good laughs.

Another 2 miles scheduled for tomorrow.  I will have to get up a bit earlier if i want to get a treadmill so I can run before we hit the slopes for the day.  I could run outside, but it’s very hilly around here and I prefer to ski them, rather than run them!

One more thing…my hip flexors are super tight.  Anyone know a good stretch so I can try to loosen them up a bit?  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

