My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Fun Day, Run Day

on March 17, 2012

This was Thursday’s post…for some reason it didn’t load…here it is now.

 

Today I set my alarm to get up early and go run my 3 miles. The alarm went off, I turned it off, rolled over and went back to sleep for 2 hours! So the pre-ski run did not happen. I was a bit worried about this as I didn’t run yesterday after giving myself an extra day off.

It seemed everyone was a bit tired this morning, because when I finally got up, both of my kids were still sound asleep. We all eventually got moving and out the door, and it’s a good thing we did. The skiing this morning was the best all week. Finally it was cold enough that the snow stayed in great shape until early afternoon. We were all over the mountain this morning and had a great time skiing together.

We headed back out after lunch with the plan to do a few runs and then meet up with our entire extended family group of 20 for waffles at the famous Okemo Waffle House. This is a little shack in the middle of the hill that makes the most amazing fresh waffles ever. They are warm, delicious and come drizzled in melted chocolate. They are an annual tradition for our trip to Okemo. I thoroughly enjoyed mine and could have easily enjoyed another one, but I was good and just had my one super delicious treat.

My mom and I at the Waffle Cabin

After waffles we made a few more runs and then it was off to take a ride on Okemo’s Timber Ripper Mountain Coaster. This is a roller coaster with individual cars that takes you on a fun-filled ride down Okemo mountain. The kids have been dying to take a ride since we didn’t get a chance to do it last year when it first opened. It was quite fun and the kids liked it so much we forked out another wad of cash so they could all go again.

Everyone then went down to the pool and hot tub for some relaxation. That is everyone except me. I laced up my runners, grabbed my iPod and headed out the door for a 3 mile run. My husband commented that he was impressed with my dedication to training while we are away. I’m impressed too. I planned to do most of the runs, but I wasn’t too sure if it would really happen. I’m glad I was able to stick to it.

So, once again it was me, Vermont Hwy 100, and this time a sunset. 3 miles is not that far, but Vermont is not flat (at least not around here!) and my legs are so tired from a week of skiing, so the run was really not all that fun…but i did it! I am quite pleased with the amount of running I got in while on vacation. I did all but 1 of my scheduled runs and I think that is pretty good. Tomorrow is a rest day (yay!!!) and I should be home Saturday by late afternoon to finish my training week off there.

It’s supposed to rain here tomorrow, so we may just get up, pack the truck and head all the way home. If that is the case I should have no problem getting Saturday’s 2.5 miles in. If we do ski tomorrow, then I won’t be home until Saturday night and that 2.5 miles will be a bit more of a challenge. Regardless, Sunday is a “long run” day with 4.5 miles. I’m almost looking forward to it. It will be the farthest I’ve run yet. Hopefully I’ve got some legs back by and I won’t have to walk too much of it.

All in all, it was a pretty fun day at Okemo!

Leave a Reply

