My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

On My Way to Eating Clean

on March 17, 2012

Week 2 of my half marathon training is almost over.  I ran today’s 2.5 miles this morning, and I’ve got 4.5 miles to do tomorrow.  Of the 10 runs that I was supposed to do these past 2 weeks, after tomorrow morning, I will have completed 9 of them.  That’s not too bad, considering I was on vacation last week.  So, it seems that I’m moving in the right direction with my training, and towards my 3rd goal of sticking to my “Couch to Half Marathon” training program.

With the training under control, I’m ready to start putting more focus on my eating and making better, more healthy food choices.  This is not the first time that I’ve thought about making a change in my eating habits, and I’ve got all the books to show for it:

The Books

I would buy the books, and I’ve even read most of them, but I’ve never really put anything into action based on what the books said.  Well, I’ve pulled the books out again and will make a real effort to use some of the tips and recipes in them to update my eating routine.

I also have a subscription to Clean Eating magazine and have changed to a digital subscription (which I really like so far). Today I went through the April/May issue and picked out a few recipes to try this week.  I’ve also started following Joy McCarthy’s “Joyous Health” blog and website – http://www.joyoushealth.ca .  She is a Holistic Nutritionist who has some great tips for healthy eating and an overall healthy lifestyle.  I pulled a few of her recipes off her latest mail out that I’m going to try this week as well.

Armed with my new recipes and outlook towards food, I hit the grocery store and bought so many things that I’ve never used before:  kale, coconut oil, garam masala spices and quinoa to name just a few.  $338 later, I left the store!  Yikes!

I’m going to be tackling the whole cooking thing tomorrow, tonight I made some yummy apple chips from the magazine.  They were almost too easy to make (slice apples thinly, put on parchment lined baking sheet, and bake at 275 for 2 hours).  The hardest part of making them was waiting the 2 hours for them to be ready….but it was worth the wait.  They were quite tasty and a very easy on the diet:  1 apple/30 chips:  77 calories, 0g fat, 21g carbs, 4g fibre, 15g sugar.  They were a hit!

Apple Chips - a yummy, healthy snack

So, wish me luck with the whole eating clean and cooking clean thing.  The recipes all sound so good, I’m actually looking forward to trying them out.  On the menu for this week:  Mulligatawny Soup, Stuffed Acorn Squash, Kale Sweet Potato Quinoa Bowl, and some Spicy Kale Chips and Crunchy Garam Masala Chickpeas for snacks.

I’m looking forward to eating well this week.  Do you have any clean recipes that you can share? I’d love to try them.

 

4 responses to “On My Way to Eating Clean

  1. playfulpups says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! I’m off to the grocery store…:)

    Like

  2. Krista says:

    HUGE Tosca Reno fan……

    Like

  3. cathyo says:

    Krista, I’ve had the books forever, just never really did anything with them. I’ve now got my Clean Eating magazine subscription on my iPad and I love it. I’ve made 5 recipes from the last issue already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

