My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Super Tuesday!

on March 20, 2012

Today’s training schedule called for 2.5 miles. After my disastrous run on Sunday, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect today as I headed down to the treadmill, armed with a bottle of water and the latest episode of New Girl to watch on my iPad. I started off slow, actually giving myself a few minutes of walking to warm up, then went up to a slow jog at 5 mph.  After a few minutes at 5, I kicked it up to 5.5mph and was able to run at that speed fairly easily.  For the last half mile I even boosted the speed up to 6 mph and was able to keep going to the end of the 2.5 miles.  There were times that I wanted to stop, but instead, I just thought of a comment a friend of mine made about her run yesterday:  “I ran like I stole my neighbours car”…and aside from making me laugh, it really helped me get to the end and be able to run faster than usual at the end of the run.  So, thanks Char…you made me smile and helped me get through the run 🙂

With the training portion of my day complete, it was off to work where I was going to have some food challenges today.  I work in a small office of 8 people and we always go out to celebrate everyone’s birthday.  A very nice perk!  Today we were off to Coppi Restaurant in Toronto for my boss’s birthday lunch.  This is an Italian place that serves great food, but I was a bit worried about how I would stick to my  Eat Clean routine.  I checked out the menu ahead of time and decided that although lots of the pastas sounded quite delicious, I would have an appetizer green salad to start and then have another appetizer, beef carpaccio, as my main course.  I was very pleased with myself for sticking to my plan and I quite enjoyed both dishes.  I was even more impressed when I managed to skip desserts…and the creme brule and pannacotta both looked fantastic!  It was a bit odd to leave a restaurant still being a little hungry, but I just had a few garam masala chick peas as a snack a little later in the afternoon to tide me over until dinner.

Tonight for dinner I attempted another eat clean dish, this time making the Mulligatawny from pg 54 of the April/May issue.  Once again, I did my Food Network prep and was all set to go:  cut chicken into pieces, mince garlic, dice onion, slice leeks, dice carrots, grate ginger, cut apple, chop cilantro and have rice, olive oil, sea salt, pepper, curry powder, chicken stock, coconut milk and lemon juice ready.

ImageAssembly/cooking was fairly simple. Cook the rice, brown the chicken and remove, saute the onion, leek, carrots, garlic and ginger for a few minutes, add the curry powder and stir for 2 minutes, add the chicken back in and the broth and cook for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, remove from heat, add apples, coconut milk, lemon juice, S&P.  Spoon some rice into the bowl, and top with the soup. Garnish with cilantro and ENJOY!

Image

This was another Eat Clean hit, with adults and kids alike!  So good and the house still smells amazing!

And once again…leftovers!  There was just enough rice and soup left for 4 more servings…bonus!  I’m out tomorrow night, so the boys will have that for dinner. I’ve got leftover soup from today and the filling from the stuffed squash from yesterday as well, so there’s lunch at work and dinner when I get home from my meeting.

So far I am loving this whole Eat Clean thing.  Do you have any good Eat Clean recipes that you can share?  I’m looking for more good eats!

Leave a Reply

