My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Hello Weekend!

on March 23, 2012

It’s Friday!  My absolute most favourite day of the week.  Not only is the work week done, and 2 days off are on the way, it is a rest day in my training program!  I still think that is some of the best scheduling ever!

I spent a good part of this afternoon going through all my back issues of Clean Eating magazine, looking for recipes to continue building my Eat Clean recipe library.  I found 35 recipes that I would like to try!  I want to try quinoa and I found 2 recipes that look so good:  Quinoa-Stuffed Peppers and Quinoa Party Salad. I think I’m going to try to make the salad for a Pot Luck I’m going to next weekend.

Some of the other fantastic recipes included:

  • a few different types of Quesadillas – one with kimchi in them if you can believe that!
  • Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells – surprised that type of dish can be made Clean
  • Samosas
  • Kung Pao Chicken
  • Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread
  • Oven-Fried Squash Spears
  • Chocolate Banana Freezer Pie – seriously..how can something that looks this good be Clean?

Image

I think I’m going to have to try this one this weekend!

I don’t have too much planned for the weekend. Final hockey games with the kids to see if they make it to Championship Weekend in their respective divisions. My youngest is in for sure, the oldest needs to win his game tomorrow to ensure his team is in…if they lose they still have a chance, but it will depend on what other teams do, which is never a good spot to be in.

Speaking of hockey playoffs, my Toronto Maple Leafs have once again failed to make the playoffs.  Here’s the latest Leafs joke going around: “Leafs Playoff Strategy”

Image

This weekend’s training is 3 miles + Cross Training on Saturday and a 5 mile “long run” on Sunday. I’m hoping that my string of good runs continues, especially for the Sunday longer run.  I will let you know how it goes.

Enjoy the rest of your Friday!

3 responses to “Hello Weekend!

  1. trialsinfood says:

    lol to the leaf joke. the clean recipes sound good, especially the Quesadillas with kimchi. my husband would love that! good luck with your training and half marathon! i wished i could run that long distance!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’m glad you liked the Leaf joke…its sad that they are out once again. It almost hurts to be a fan! The Kimchi quesadillas seem very interesting to me. When I make them I will post a little review. Thanks for the running good wishes…I need all the help/luck I can get!

      Like

  2. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    Save a piece of that Chocolate Banana Freezer pie for me! I will bring over some granola bars tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

