My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Running, Hockey and Pie!

on March 25, 2012

Today started with a 3 mile run. I was a bit disappointed…my run mojo was not with me this morning as it had been earlier in the week.  It wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t nearly as much fun as my Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday runs.  Hopefully it is just a blip in the road and tomorrow’s 5 miles will go smoothly.  I’m wondering if I should run outside tomorrow. So far, all of my runs except two while on vacation, have been on the treadmill.  I’ve got a route that I could do that gets me the 5 miles, but it’s not all that flat, which makes it less than appealing.  I think it will be a run time decision.  I will see what the weather is and what time I actually get to run.  Since both kids won their games today, they are both in championship weekend for their hockey and now have practices tomorrow, so we’ll see how all that plays out and impacts the time I get to run.

After hockey today, it was once again time to pick out a few recipes and then hit the grocery store to stock up for the week.  This week was a little cheaper than last, but still walked out with $250 less in my bank account!  So, while eating clean may be very good for you and sure tastes good, it is not cheap!

This weeks menu includes:  Chocolate Banana Freezer Pie, Buffalo Chicken Salad, Mango Mojito Chicken, Moroccan Stuffed Squash, and Broccoli & White Bean Mac ‘n’ Cheese.  All of these recipes come from Clean Eating magazine.  Now that I’ve actually taken the step towards eating clean, these magazines are proving to be very valuable.  Before I would just flip through and basically look at the pictures.  Now I am scouring every recipe looking for new and interesting ingredients and trying to find recipes that just sound too delicious not to try.

Today’s big recipe was the Chocolate Banana Freezer Pie (see yesterday’s blog for the picture that inspired me to try it ).  First thing that needed to be done for the pie was to make an Eat Clean pie crust.  I am not a baker – at all!  This might be the first pie crust that I have ever made from scratch.  It was actually rather easy.  The recipe is (from Clean Eating magazine):

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp Sucanat
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbsp safflower oil
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • Preheat over to 375 F
  • need a 9 inch glass or ceramic pie dish

Whisk dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Whisk wet ingredients together in a spouted measuring cup. Then pour wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and with a wooden spoon gently toss all ingredients together to combine thoroughly.  Squeeze dough together into a mound and then pat down to a 1/2 inch thick disk.  Put disk onto a well floured surface and roll out until dough in about 12 inches in diameter.  Transfer to pie plate, press dough into edges of the dish and up the sides.  Fold excess over and pinch sides.  Poke with a fork to create steam holes and then bake for 20 minutes until edges and bottom are golden.  Allow to cool completely before using.

The filling was also easy.  Throw all of the following into a blender and blend until smooth, with the consistency of cake batter.

  • 5 small, ripe bananas, peeled and broken into chunks
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Once the pie crust has cooled, pour the filling into it and top with 1 oz grated dark chocolate and 2 tbsp chopped dry roasted peanuts.  Cover tightly with plastic wrap and freeze for 4 hours or overnight.

Finished pie...can't wait to try it!

After 4 hours my pie was still not set enough to eat.  We will have to wait until tomorrow to try it.  I will let you know how it tastes!

Dinner tonight was a clean Buffalo Chicken Salad. This was very easy to make.  Spray 1 lb of chicken breasts with cooking spray and season with salt, paprika and chili powder.  Grill until fully cooked and then remove from heat and allow to rest for 3-5 minutes, and slice into bite-sized pieces.  Meanwhile, prepare dressing:  into a blender add:  1/2 sweet onion chopped, 1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt, 5 tbsp low-fat buttermilk, and 1- 1 1/2 tbsp hot sauce.  Puree.  The veggie portion of the salad included:  1 head romaine, 1 head red leaf lettuce, 1 yellow pepper (thinly sliced), 1 pint grape tomatoes, 1 cup peeled and shredded carrots.  Divide lettuce among 4 plates (this actually fed 4 adults and 2 kids tonight), top with pepper, carrot, tomatoes and chicken.  Serve yogurt dressing on the side, or drizzle evenly over each plate.  Sprinkle with blue cheese if desired (I tried it to stick to the recipe, but I think next time I would skip it.  I really don’t like blue cheese!).

Clean Eating compared this Clean version to a Chili’s Boneless Buffalo Chicken Salad.  The clean version was over 900 calories lighter than the Chili’s salad:  258 calories for the Clean salad vs 1,170 for the Chili’s salad.  There was a huge reduction in the amount of fat as well:  72g for Chili’s and only 6g of fat for this clean salad.  This made me realize that choosing a salad at a restaurant may not always be the best thing to do.  I would have never guessed that a salad would be nearly 1200 calories.

Overall, the salad was really good and the dressing was quite tasty.  Definitely another recipe to repeat.

So, it is now 11:40 pm…late.  Since I started writing this post, we’ve gotten calls and emails and now know the kids’ hockey is at 10:15 and 10:30 tomorrow morning. Not sure if I will get up early enough to get my 5 mile run in before we have to head to the arena.  The thought of getting up at 7:30 to run for an hour does not sound too good to me right now…I need more sleep than that!  I think I will aim to run after hockey practices are done.  Still need to figure out if I’m going to hit the treadmill or venture outside.  I think I will sleep on it and see how I feel tomorrow!

I’ll let you know what I decide and how it goes tomorrow.  Good night everyone!

 

 

 

One response to “Running, Hockey and Pie!

  1. […] eating it!  I made up for it at dinner with a Clean Eating Buffalo Chicken Salad – click here for the recipe.  This got me a bit caught up with my Elf For Health challenges, as I ate the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

