My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Just Another Manic Monday!

on March 26, 2012

I wish it was Sunday, but today is my “I don’t have to run day!”  I have a love/hate relationship with Monday.  It is the end of the weekend and back to work and the usual chaos of my life (the hate part), but it is also a rest day in my training, so I get to sleep in a bit and don’t have to run (the love part).

Overall today was a good day.  Work was good and I got quite a few things crossed off my “To Do” list.  I went out for lunch with a friend from work and we had a  yummy Chinese lunch of soup balls, dumplings, and green beans, which actually didn’t kill me on the calorie count.  According to my “My Fitness Pal” app, which had everything we ate in its database, lunch added up to just under 500 calories.  Not bad for a restaurant lunch all things considered.

For dinner, it was my son’s request to have Clean Eating Magazine’s Mango Mojito Chicken for dinner.  It was very easy to make and was full of tasty ingredients:  chicken breast, mango, green pepper, scallions, chicken broth, mint, lime zest, lime juice, garlic, S&P, and brown rice. Image

The recipe was basically to brown the chicken breast, then add everything except the rice in and let it simmer for 5-10 minutes.  After the chicken is fully cooked, add in 2 cups of cooked rice, stir, and let it simmer for a couple more minutes.

Image

A serving is 1 cup of the rice/mango mixture and 1 chicken breast, for a total of 340 calories worth of deliciousness! This was another hit recipe and will definitely go into the Clean Eating rotation.  My oldest even asked for seconds, so you know it’s good when that happens.

Image

Tonight I am playing my last hockey game of the season.  Our team was not very good this year, so we are in a battle with the other not very good team in the league for last place!  It should be a fun game, with everyone coming out since it is our last game, but the bad part is game time…10pm. This means tonight will be a late night, which is going to make getting up to run tomorrow morning a bit tough. Good thing tomorrow’s run is only a short 2.5 miles.  Hopefully my run mojo will be with me and I will be able to run the whole thing without stopping.  That’s my goal at least.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

As I’m writing this, my husband just got a call to go watch another team battle for last place tomorrow…the Leafs.  Here is another funny Leafs joke going around.

Image

Some days it’s hard to be a Leafs fan.

Enjoy the rest of your Monday, everyone. I’m off to the rink!

Leave a Reply

