My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Sun Comes Up, It’s Tuesday Morning

on March 27, 2012

So, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I played the final game of my hockey league last night.  It was a fierce battle for last place.  It turns out it was quite a fun game, we played well, and in the end we won 5-0.  As a teammate’s son so eloquently put it…we are the Toilet Bowl Champs!  The one downside of the game was the fact that towards the end of the third period I got rocked when an opposing player and I crashed head on.  We collided pretty hard and then I went down flat on my back, knocking the wind out of me.  Turns out I was fine, but I was a bit worried about how I was going to feel this morning and whether I would be able to run before work.

I set my alarm and slept like a rock, waking up a little before my alarm was to go off.  I didn’t feel too bad, so figured I would get a couple more minutes of sleep and then when my alarm went off, get up and go downstairs to run.  Turns out my alarm didn’t go off, or if it did, the music was too low and I didn’t hear it.  Next thing I know it’s 6:45 and I have missed my chance to run before work…bummer!

Hubby is at the Leafs game tonight, which means it’s just me and the boys for dinner.  They wanted grilled cheese – totally not clean eating – but it was quick and easy and they’ve been eating clean along with me, so it was a bit of a treat for them.  I would have something else after my run.

I hit the treadmill, ready to watch some more of Water for Elephants (it’s a long movie…I’m hoping to finish it this week!) and actually had a pretty good run.  2.5 miles went by quickly and rather painlessly. Maybe I’m actually getting better!  I don’t want to jinx anything by saying that, but hopefully it’s true.  While I was running, I had a little friend to keep me company:

My run cheering section: Ovie! He sits on the weight machine every time I run!

Today was not a very exciting food day.  Oatmeal with flax seed and honey for breakfast, leftover Mango Mojito Chicken for lunch (just as good the second day), and after I got the kids to bed, dinner was popcorn.  Not the greatest dinner, I know, but I did pop it in coconut oil.  I’ve never done that before, but it turned out just fine.  I put a couple of very small spoonfuls of coconut oil into the popper, waited for it to melt, and then added the popcorn.  It smelled quite nice while it was popping and the popcorn has a hint of coconut flavour to it.  It’s really good!  Still probably not the healthiest meal ever,  but so good!

Tomorrow’s schedule calls for 3 miles plus core.  I took a peek at the core workout and there is a lot of plank hold in there…ugh…it’s gonna be great!

By the way…I think popcorn popped in coconut oil might be my new favourite snack…this stuff is AWESOME!

See you tomorrow!

One response to “Sun Comes Up, It’s Tuesday Morning

  1. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    I totally agree that TV is a great distraction when running…I watched a little Rachel Ray this morning and it sure made the 1 minute hill climbs go by a lot quicker! Lets just hope that the changing scenery is enough in race day 🙂 we’d look pretty silly carrying iPads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

