My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I’m Starving!

on March 28, 2012

Today got off to an early start when my alarm went off at 6am.  I set it to buzzer mode this time, and I definitely heard it.  It woke me out of a deep, sound sleep.  I was not impressed when I realized I could have slept in a bit since I was going to work from home today, which meant I didn’t need to be out the door by 7:20.  I stayed in bed for a bit, not sleeping, but enjoying some rest time.  Once everyone was out the door, off to school and work, I headed downstairs to get my 3 miles in before starting the rest of my day.

I watched the rest of Water for Elephants and the run flew by quickly.  Before I knew it my 3 miles was done and all I had left to do was my core session. Today’s core workout included 45 second plank hold, 25 double crunches, and another 30 second plank hold, completing the circuit twice.  My god!  This killed my abs.  What a workout!  

My run made me super hungry, but I was a bit behind schedule, so took the easy way out and had a whole wheat bagel with almond butter instead of my usual oatmeal.  It had been quite a while since I’ve had a bagel.  It was good!  When I entered breakfast into My Fitness Pal I was happy to see that the calorie count actually wasn’t too bad – 380 calories total. What surprised me was how many calories and fat the almond butter was.  It was equal to the calories of the bagel and much higher in fat!  Oh well, I figured I burned enough calories running to not do too much damage.

By lunch time I was starved again, but didn’t get to eat right away.  My housekeeper was here today and I didn’t want to go into the kitchen and get in her way, so I waited for lunch until she left, which was at 2:30 or so. I was starved again!  I didn’t have any leftovers to eat, but I did have some baby bok choy in the fridge, so sauteed that up in some olive oil with some garlic and then added some Spicy Thai Chili sauce at the end.  This was delicious and a mere 138 calories!

Image

It seems all I do now is think of food. Less than an hour after my bok choy I was already thinking about dinner!  I was planning to make another Eat Clean meal, I just had to decide which one….Moroccan Stuffed Squash or Broccoli and White Bean Mac n Cheese.  In the end the Mac n Cheese won out as it seemed like it would be the quicker of the two to make.  There were quite a few ingredients to the dish, but I’ve found that if I get everything chopped, measured out, and organized into bowls, it really helps make the actual cooking go quite smoothly.  Ingredients for the Mac N Cheese included:  skim milk, fat free evaporated milk, sharp cheddar cheese, grated Romano cheese (I just used grated parmesan), broccoli, red pepper, garlic, nutmeg, paprika, white beans, whole wheat flour, and whole wheat elbow macaroni.  I feel so “food networky” when I do this!  

Image

Prep was simple, with 2 basic parts.  First, the cheese sauce:  mix the flour and part of the milk together, add the rest of the milk, the evaporated milk, garlic and nutmeg into a sauce pan.  Once it boils, add the milk/flour mixture to it stir to get rid of any lumps.  Then add in the cheddar and some of the Romano until melted. Cover and keep just warm until the pasta part is ready. Part 2:  the pasta.  Cook pasta and broccoli for 6 minute, add in the chopped pepper and cook a couple minutes more.  Drain and add back to the pot. Stir in the beans and the cheese mixture, and heat through.  A serving is 1.5 cups and has 379 calories.

Image

This was another hit with the family and there are leftovers to boot!  There’s lunch at work for tomorrow and Friday!  

And now, despite just eating a yummy bowl of pasta, I feel hungry again!  What is with that? I think my mind is playing tricks on me. I can’t possibly be hungry.  Has this ever happened to you?  It makes no sense to me!

Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday, everyone.  See you tomorrow!

One response to “I’m Starving!

  1. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    I know what you mean, I think I’m getting hungrier by the day! I do however, think that my level of hunger is related to the amount of sugar I eat. The more sugar, the more I want to eat! Today was one of those days, had a chai latte after the gym, and was super hungry the rest of the day! Good thing I’m only having one a week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

