My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

It’s Finally Friday!

on March 30, 2012

Wow!  What a week.  It seems that this is the norm these days.  Each week seems to be crazier than the last.  At some point it has to slow down, right?

Once again, the best part of today is that it is a REST DAY!!!  Yes, I am enjoying the running, and it’s getting easier, but I so love my rest days.  I love going to bed the night before a rest day and knowing I don’t have to get up early…it’s the best!  I know, it’s sad really that an extra 45 minutes of sleep means that much to me, but it does!  I don’t want to rush through the weekend, but I’m already looking forward to my next rest day on Monday 🙂

This weekend’s run schedule calls for 3 miles plus cross training on Saturday and a 6 mile Easy/Long Run on Sunday.  I’m not too worried about the 3 miles run, but the 6 miles will likely test me.  6 miles is just about half of the distance of the half marathon, so I’m curious to see how long it takes me.  It’s early in my training still (week 4 of 12), but I know in my mind I will be taking this time, doubling it and thinking that’s roughly how long it will take me to run the half.  Hopefully I continue to improve over the next 8 weeks, build more stamina, and hopefully lose a few more pounds so there is less of me to carry when I’m running.

I’m quite pleased with my training so far.  Of the 20 runs that I will be scheduled to have run by the end of Sunday, I will have run 19 of them!  The only run I’ve missed is one while on my ski vacation when I gave myself a midweek day off since my legs were doing double duty with skiing/snowboarding all day.  The one part of the training that I have not been doing as well on are the cross training days.  I’ve been playing hockey once a week so far and sort of counting that as my cross training, but hockey is now over for the season and there are a few weeks left before ball hockey starts and I can count that as my cross training.  I’m not too sure what to do in the meantime.  It is supposed to be some other form of low impact cardio…maybe I will try to get to hot yoga once a week.  I know the stretching and the heat would be great for my legs…I am the worst post-run stretcher EVER.  I basically don’t do any.  I know how bad it is for me, and my massage therapists asks every visit if I’m stretching properly, but I just can’t bring myself to spend the time doing it.  When I am done my run all I want to do – and have time to do – is hit the showers, get dressed, and get out the door for work. I will try to work on it, but I’m not making any promises!

Tomorrow I am going to spend the day scrapbooking.  I am going with my sister to our Creative Memories consultant’s house for a full day crop.  I am really looking forward to it.  One of my goals is to scrapbook more.  I am so far behind that I’m afraid I will never get caught up.  Full day events are a great opportunity to get a lot accomplished.  I’m away from all the distractions of home, with nothing to focus on by my pictures and completing lots of pages.  Of course, with 12 other women, there will be lots of talk and laughter to help the day fly by.  It’s a Pot Luck crop, so everyone is bringing a dish to share with the group.  I’m looking forward to the variety and trying new dishes, but I”m also worried about sticking to my eating routine and not eating anything too bad for me.  To be sure that I’ve got at least one Eat Clean option, I have made a “Quinoa Party Salad” to take.  As the name suggests, it obviously has quinoa in it.  This is the first time that I have used quinoa.  It was actually quite easy to make.  Measure, rinse, boil, simmer until water is absorbed, allow to cool.  Easy!  The rest of the recipe called for black beans, red pepper, orange pepper, fresh cilantro, corn kernels, and S&P.  All of these get mixed together (use a big bowl…quinoa really expands when it cooks!), and tossed with a simple dressing of 1/4 cup olive oil,  the juice of 1 lime, cumin and red pepper flakes.  For the huge amount of  salad that results from all of these ingredients, these is very little dressing for it.  It makes the salad very fresh and light.  To be sure it was Pot Luck worthy, and because Friday is Pizza night and I’m not doing pizza these days (although I did steal a bite…it was so good), I had a bowl for dinner tonight.  It was quite good.  Hopefully everyone at the pot luck will like it too.

Quinoa Party Salad. Recipe from Clean Eating Magazine, November/December 2011

Tomorrow there is one little hiccup in my plan for a full day of uninterrupted scrap time.  It is Championship Weekend for the local hockey league, and my older son’s team has qualified.  He plays his final game of the season for the Consolation Championship tomorrow at 12:20pm.  Which means I’m going to leave my crop, head to the rink, watch him win (fingers crossed), and then head back and scrap for the rest of the afternoon.  Despite probably having a 2 hour break in the middle of my day, I’m hoping I still get lots done.  Regardless, I know I will have a great time hanging out with my sister for the day.

I hope you all have a great weekend and get to sneak a little “me time” in there somewhere.

3 responses to “It’s Finally Friday!

  1. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    That salad looks yummy!
    Looking forward to some healthy eats tomorrow…gotta make up for tonight!

    Like

  2. playfulpups says:

    I was actually sitting here on the couch, surfing the web (doing nothing in particular) and avoiding doing any part of work/exercise. HOWEVER, after reading this, I feel the urge to get off the couch and go for a run. Thanks for the motivation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

