My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Saturday Good Eats!

on March 31, 2012

As usual, my day started with a run. 3 miles in 30 minutes and 33 seconds.  I’m getting faster!  I had some additional motivation to move it this morning.  I was going to a scrapbook crop with my sister and told her I would pick her up at 9:15am.  At 8:48, I still had a little left to run, so kicked it up to 7mph and booted it for my last half mile.  I’m not gonna lie and say it was easy…it wasn’t…but it felt good to push myself.  Hopefully I still have some of that drive tomorrow when I have to do 6 miles.

I had a nice day scrapping, but really didn’t get too much done.  I had a hard time getting started and the page layouts just weren’t flowing. I also had to leave for a bit in the middle of the crop to go watch my son’s hockey game (more on that later).  One nice part of the crop was lunch!  It was a potluck, so everyone brought a dish. I took my Eat Clean Party Quinoa Salad, which everyone seemed to enjoy.  There was also a yummy spinach salad, veggies and dip, crackers and cheese, deli meat, nice fresh bread, and I think there were chicken wings, but they were all gone when I got back from the hockey game.  I tried to stick to my Eat Clean routine, so I had some of my salad, a bit of spinach salad, a slice of turkey, and a slice of havarti.  There were also a few dessert items: Skinny Coconut Cupcakes, carrot cake, and fruit with chocolate dip.  The cupcakes were made by my sister, who is also Eating Clean, so they fit into the diet!  The chocolate mini eggs that decorated the top of each cupcake were not part of Eat Clean, but I ate them anyways! The carrot cake was not clean, but I allowed myself the smallest sliver since I love carrot cake. I finished off my meal with a few blackberries and strawberries. All total, according to My Fitness Pal, lunch was 784 calories!  Oh well, I enjoyed every bite!

As I mentioned, I had to leave the crop to go watch my son play hockey. It was his final game of the season, as part of Championship Weekend for the local hockey association.  He was playing in the Consolation Championship, so I couldn’t miss it!  It was a great game.  The team played well, and kept digging through to the final buzzer. Nick got an assist on the second goal and they won 4-1!  It’s a bit of a fuzzy picture, but here he is with the trophy.  Congrats kiddo!  Well done.

Image

Normally, after a day of scrapping, we go out for dinner. But since I’m trying to watch what I eat, and since Thursday’s Benihana meal was so expensive, we stayed in and I cooked another yummy Clean Eating recipe.  Tonight’s recipe of choice was Moroccan-Style Stuffed Squash from the March 2012 issue.  This was a very simple recipe:

  • bake the squash
  • saute some onion, celery and carrots
  • add 1 cup of chicken broth, 1/4 cup couscous,1/2 cup frozen peas, 1/2 cup chick peas
  • season with cumin, Za’atar (I used corriander), S&P
  • Cover and cook for 3 minutes, then remove from heat and allow to sit for 5-7 minutes, until all liquid is absorbed by the couscous
  • when ready, fluff with a fork and sprinkle with fresh chopped parsley
  • Scoop into the baked squash and enjoy!

The recipe also called for 1/4 cup unsweetened raisins, but I absolutely HATE raisins, so I left them out.

Image

This was another hit recipe…even with the kids.  I am actually a bit surprised that every recipe I have tried has been so good.  I was worried that things would lack flavour since they were so “healthy”, but this has not been the case at all.  Everything is so tasty, with lots of great flavours, textures, and interesting new ingredients.  Tomorrow I will have to go through my magazines and cookbooks and find our menu for next week. Can’t wait!

Have you got any great Clean recipes you can share?  I’d love to try them out.

Leave a Reply

