My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Groovin’, On a Sunday Afternoon

on April 1, 2012

Today marks the end of week 4 of my Couch to Half Marathon training program.  I have to say that I am pretty impressed with myself.  I have completed 19 of 20 scheduled runs, missing only a 2 mile run while I was on my ski vacation in Vermont.  My goal at the beginning of my program was to compete at least 4 of the 5 scheduled runs each week. I’m doing even better than I was hoping, so I’m very happy with that.

Today was also another busy day in my hectic life!  Yesterday my older son played his final hockey game, and today my little guy had his final game.  He was playing in the Atom Championship Final.  This was probably the most exciting game of hockey I had every seen.  The scoring went back and forth between the two teams, and at the end of regulation it was tied at 4. They then played a 5 minute overtime, which ended with no additional scoring.  After the 5 minute overtime period, they then go into something called Retrogressive Overtime. This format starts with a 1 minute period with 5 on 5, then they remove one player each minute to 4 on 4, then 3 on 3, 2 on 2, down to 1 on 1.  They went through this format twice, still with no score.  They started the third round at 5 on 5, and then dropped to 4 on 4 and just before the end of that period, the other team scored.  All of the kids worked so hard and played their hearts out for the regulation game and all 13 overtime periods.  It was a shame that one team had to lose. Here’s Jackson with his Championship Finalists trophy.

Image

I was scheduled to run 6 miles today.  My original plan was to run home from Jack’s hockey game.  I mapped out a route and was looking forward to finally getting outside.  That all changed when I woke up this morning and it was wet with rain and hail.  I wasn’t going to make my first big outdoor run one with such bad weather.  So after hockey it was back downstairs to the treadmill.

I had a new plan for my long run.  I was going to take a walk break each mile.  So, with that as my plan, and my iPad for entertainment, off I went.  I tried to watch the latest episode of the new Kiefer Sutherland show Touch, but for some reason the Global TV app kept crashing…very frustrating.  After 3 crashes, I gave up and decided to watch the movie Crazy, Stupid Love.  I had seen the move before, but still enjoyed watching it.  I didn’t quite finish it, so I will watch the rest Tuesday morning when I run again.

Anyways…back to the run.  I started with a few minutes at 5mph to warm up, then went to 5.5 for a bit and then up to 6mph.  At the end of each mile, I dropped down to 3.5mph and walked for a minute or less to grab a drink and recover a little before cranking it back up to 6.  I was in a groove and the run actually went by fairly quickly. I was getting ready for another walk session when I realized that I didn’t get another rest session, I was coming up on 6 miles!  I was so happy, that I kicked it up to 6.5 and ran the last half mile with the biggest smile on my face.  In the end, I ran 6 miles, in 66 minutes and burned 666 calories.  That’s a lot of 6’s and is a bit freaky!  Good thing I’m not superstitious!

After my run, it was time to dig through my Clean Eating recipes and choose the menu for this week, create a grocery list and hit the store.  This week’s trip was around $250.  Clearly, clean eating is not cheap, but I think it is totally worth it.  Aside from a few things for the kids lunches and snacks (that I won’t eat), everything else in my cart was Clean.

This week’s menu includes:

  • Chicken and goat cheese strudel
  • Chicken penne with sun-dried tomato and fresh red pepper sauce
  • Orange chipotle chicken
  • Mediterranean vegetable, white bean & feta penne
  • Curried chicken with peas
  • Chicken, spinach & ricotta quesadillas
  • Oven-fried squash spears (will be served as a side dish with one of these recipes)

All of these recipes look so good and I can’t wait to try them all.  Tonight we got a bit crunched for time, so I made the Mediterranean veg & white bean penne (from Clean Eating Magazine, Feb 2011 issue).  Another easy recipe, ready in a little over 15 minutes.

  1. boil penne, during last minute, add 1 cup white beans
  2. prepare tomato mixture:  in a bowl, combine 2 medium chopped tomatoes, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp sea salt
  3. heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a skillet, add 1 chopped zucchini, 1 chopped green pepper (I used half a green and half a red pepper).  Cook for a few minutes then add 2 cloves minced garlic.  Remove from heat and add the tomato mixture.  Drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil and keep warm.
  4. drain penne-bean mixture and place into serving dish, sprinkle with crumbled feta, then spoon zucchini mixture over and top with more crumbled feta.

Image

The recipe says it serves 4, but there is enough left for 2 lunches.  I am loving these Clean leftovers!  Already looking forward to lunch tomorrow!  Each 1 1/2 cup serving is only 353 delicious calories.

Tomorrow is a rest day…YAY!!!  Almost makes Monday tolerable!

Hope you all had a great weekend and are ready for a good week ahead.

3 responses to “Groovin’, On a Sunday Afternoon

  1. […] to be the recipe I shared, and that I was going to make it tonight for dinner.  The recipe was Mediterranean Veg & White Bean Pasta, and it was just as good as I remember it.  Maybe even better since hubs prepared it while I […]

    Like

  2. […] The official recipe is called Mediterranean Vegetable, White Bean & Feta Penne.  See here for recipe….and give it a try.  It really is […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

