My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Love Me a Rest Day!

on April 2, 2012

Here we are at another Monday.  Ugh…really not my favourite day of the week at all, but I do love the fact that Monday’s are rest days on my training schedule.  Knowing when I go to bed Sunday night that I get to sleep in is such a great feeling.  I don’t get enough sleep, so when I can grab and extra 45 minutes in the morning, it’s almost a treat for me.

With no run scheduled, by big focus today was on what I was eating, making sure I kept it clean.  Breakfast is a challenge for me most days as I am rushing to get out the door.  I try to have some for of oatmeal if I can.  Most days when I get to work I make a bowl of 1/2 cup quick oats, 1 cup water, 1 tbsp honey and 2 tbsp flax seed.  When I have a little more time, which I did today, I like to make an oatmeal pancake.  This is a recipe that I got from a friend and it is a quick and filling breakfast.

The oatmeal pancake is:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (I use quick oats but it also works with old fashioned oats)
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • You can add in a scoop of protein powder (vanilla is great), some dark chocolate chips, blueberries, bananas, apples, or anything else you like.
  • Mix and cook in a skillet, flipping after a few minutes to ensure its cooked through…just like a pancake.

I eat this on the way to work as is just breaking into pieces.  My kids like to put syrup on it and eat it like a regular pancake.  This is a very filling meal and keeps me satisfied until lunch.

Lunch today was last night’s leftovers and I have to tell that the Mediterranean Veg and White Bean Penne with Feta was just as good today as it was yesterday.  So flavourful.

Tonight I tried another new Clean Eating recipe from the Feb 2011 issue:  Curried Chicken with Peas.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
  • 2 tbsp mild or hot curry paste (any type, your choice)
  • 1 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas (do not thaw)
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • S&P to taste

Instructions:

  1. cook rice according to package directions
  2. heat oil in large skillet, on medium-high.  Add scallions and garlic, and cook for 1 minute, stirring frequently.  Add chicken and cook for 2 minutes, stirring, until golden brown.  In small bowl, whisk curry paste into broth.  Add curry mixture to skillet and bring to a simmer until chicken is cooked through.  Add peas and cook for 30 seconds, until just tender.  Remove from heat and stir in cilantro and season with S&P.  Serve chicken mixture over rice and ENJOY!
Image
Each serving (1 cup chicken mixture with 1/2 cup rice) is 337 calories.

This recipe is another keeper.  Nick even asked for seconds and has claimed the leftovers for his lunch at school tomorrow.  Good thing there is still one serving of the Med Veg and White Bean Feta Penne left for me to have for lunch!

Today is the first day of Week 5 of my Couch to Half Marathon training program.  I think I mentioned this before, but each week of the program, Trish Blackwell, the app creator, gives a little video motivation for the week. This week she asks us to change up our routine.  If we usually run on a treadmill, try to do at least one run outside, if we normally run outside, try to do one treadmill run.  So, it looks like I am finally going to get outside.  I think it will be my Thursday or Saturday run, as both are only 3 miles and that seems like a good distance to start outside.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Tomorrow is also scheduled to be 3 miles, but also has the core component added to it.  I will likely tackle that on the treadmill to be sure to have time for my core workout after the run. This means I need to get up early so I better get my butt to bed.

But…on last thing before I sign off.  I am a die hard Californication fan. Tonight was the season finale and I watched as I wrote this post.  I have to say that the ending leaves things not looking too good for Hank.  As soon as I post this, I am off to Google to be sure that the show has been renewed for next season!  What an ending…

Leave a Reply

