My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

What’s for Dinner?

on April 3, 2012

Today started early…sort of.  I set my alarm to get up and run 3 miles and do my core workout before heading into work.  However, when my alarm went off I just couldn’t get up.  I don’t think I had the best sleep and I was still so tired at 6am when the alarm went off, I just turned it off and rolled over.  I now regret that decision, because it means that at some point tonight I have to run 3 miles!  My plan now it to let dinner digest a bit, write this post, and then hit the treadmill for what will hopefully be a quick 3 miles.

Since I slept in this morning, it put me a little behind schedule so I didn’t have time to make an oatmeal pancake.  Instead I grabbed a box of Quaker Harvest Crunch, put some skim milk in a container, grabbed my leftovers for lunch and headed out the door.  I had the cereal when I got to work and have to say that it was quite yummy.  I haven’t had any Harvest Crunch in quite some time.  It is only in the house because the kids recently discovered they like granola and my husband bought a giant box for them.  I had a feeling that Harvest Crunch wasn’t quite a Clean option, but looking at the ingredients, it’s actually not too bad:  ROLLED OATS, ROLLED WHOLE WHEAT, BROWN SUGAR,COCONUT OIL, MODIFIED MILK INGREDIENTS, DRIED UNSWEETENED COCONUT, ALMONDS,HONEY, NATURAL FLAVOUR.  After eating, it was straight to My Fitness Pal to see what the damage was.  Turns out 3/4 cup of Harvest Crunch and a cup of skim milk are only 286 calories.  Overall the cereal and milk were few calories, carbs, fat and sugar than my oatmeal pancake, but just as filling.

Lunch was once again leftover Mediterranean Veg, White Bean & Feta Penne…still delicious!

Dinner became a bit of a gong show.  I had left for work in such a hurry that I didn’t take anything out of the freezer.  This meant I needed to pick a recipe that didn’t need anything that couldn’t be thawed quickly.  I thought I had it all figured out…I would call my son when he got home from school and get him to take some ground chicken out of the freezer and I would be able to make the chicken strudel recipe.  Good plan…but no!  Turns out phyllo dough needs to thaw for 5 hours or so before it can be used.  Who knew!  This was going to be my first phyllo dish.  Hopefully it is thawed and will be good to go for tomorrow.

So, with the phyllo unavailable, what was my next option for dinner?  I thought about the oven fried squash spears, but turns out I used some of my zucchini for dinner a few nights ago, so didn’t have enough, plus I didn’t really have a main dish to go with them.  In the end, I went with spaghetti squash and kicked up a jar of Classico for the sauce.  My sauce kick up included:  garlic and shallot sauteed in olive oil, with some orange pepper, broccoli, and zucchini.  Once all the veggies were softened and starting to just brown a bit, I added the jar of sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes until the squash was ready.  It ended up being a pretty good throw together meal.

As seems to be the case with all of these Clean meals, there is enough left for lunch tomorrow!

If you’ve got any last-minute, go to meals I’d love to hear them.

Well, dinner should be settled by now…off to the treadmill I go!

Leave a Reply

