My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Strudeliciousness!

on April 4, 2012

Today was not a great day training-wise.  I was scheduled to run 4 miles.  I set my alarm, debated about staying in bed but did get up, headed down to run, and then just couldn’t get into it.  I think I was still tired from my run last night.  Maybe only 7 hours between runs is not enough recovery for me yet.  I tried to keep going for a while and then I just decided not to kill myself, and just went with a brisk walk.  I did 2 miles and called it a day.  Initially I was going to head back down tonight and run the other 2 miles, but decided to just leave it at the 2.  I will try to shake it off and have a good run tomorrow when I need to do 3 miles.    I think I will allow myself a sleep in and run tomorrow night.  All these early mornings are starting to take their toll on me.  I need to get more sleep.  My sister jokes with me that I should have included “get more sleep” as one of my goals!  She is probably right.

The best part of my day was dinner.  My phyllo pastry was finally thawed, so I could make the Chicken & Goat Cheese Strudel from Clean Eating Nov/Dec 2011 issue. It was one of their 5 ingredient recipes, so it 5 main ingredients plus some pantry items.

5 ingredients:

  1. 1 lb extra lean ground chicken
  2. 2 tsp dried Italian seasoning
  3. 5 oz. baby spinach
  4. 4 oz. goat cheese
  5. 4 sheets whole wheat phyllo dough

Pantry items:

  1. Olive oil cooking spray
  2. 2 cloves garlic, minced
  3. Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat a large non-stick skillet on medium-high and coat with cooking spray.  Add chicken and cook, breaking into pieces, for 2 minutes.  Add garlic and Italian seasoning and cook until chicken is cooked through.  Transfer to a large bowl.
  2. Add spinach to skillet, cover and cook for 1 minute.  Remove lid, stir and cook until spinach is wilted and no liquid remains – about a minute.  Transfer to fine mesh strainer and let cool for 2 minutes.  Squeeze excess liquid from spinach. Transfer to bowl with chicken and add crumbled goat cheese, season with salt and pepper and stir until well combined.
  3. Preheat oven to 350.  Place 1 sheet of phyllo on flat work surface and mist with cooking spray.  Top with another sheet and mist again.  Do the same with the third sheet. Top with final sheet and mist edges of this sheet.
  4. Spoon chicken-spinach mixture onto bottom third of phyllo stack, leaving a 2 inch border along sides and bottom.  Roll bottom of phyllo over top of filling and continue rolling tucking in edges as you roll, until phyllo forms a tube.  Use a sharp knife and make small slits in the dough about 1 inch apart.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.  Let cool for 3-5 minutes before slicing into 4 equal servings.

In my frustration with the frozen dough yesterday, I ended up breaking a section off the whole role, so I overlapped the bigger pieces to create a large enough sheet to roll. Seemed to work just fine.

Image

This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!  Definitely one to make again.  Each serving (a 3 inch wide piece) is only 278 calories,

So, today didn’t start out so great, but it ended not too badly.  Hopefully tomorrow gets off to a better start.

Image

Good night, all. I’m off to get some much needed sleep!

2 responses to “Strudeliciousness!

  1. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    This looks solo good! I’m going to make it for sure 🙂

    Like

  2. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    Oops, that should say sooooo yummy! Stupid autocorrect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

