My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

On the Hunt…for Clean Recipes!

on April 5, 2012

It’s Thursday night, heading into a Long Weekend!  Wohoo!  After the week I’ve had, an extra day off is just what I need.

I gave myself a sleep in this morning.  After yesterday’s disastrous morning run, I figured I would get some extra sleep and put as much distance between that run and my next one!  Plus, I knew I was going to be home from work a bit earlier than usual, so would be able to run early tonight.

I was scheduled for 3 miles. I figured I would get it over as soon as I got home and then I would be able to sit on the couch and watch TV all night…GUILT FREE!!!  I hit the treadmill, armed with the latest episode of New Girl to watch, and 34 short minutes later, I was done!  This was a much better run than yesterday’s nightmare run.  Thank God.  I’m not sure what I would have done if I had another bad run.  That would have been very demotivating…and less motivation is not what I need!

My menu of the day consisted of Harvest Crunch for breakfast, and then leftovers for the rest of the day. Leftover spaghetti squash for lunch and my sister gave me a piece of leftover Eat Clean Spinach and Chicken Sausage Pizza for dinner.  I was starving after my run, so I also ate the little leftover slice of yesterday’s Chicken, Spinach and Goat Cheese Strudel.  I am full and happy!

I am absolutely loving eating clean.  Every recipe from Clean Eating magazine that I have tried so far has been delicious. I am so excited about cooking now. I used to dread going home from work and trying to figure out what to make.  Now I can’t wait to get home and tackle the recipe of the day.  Planning out the menu for the week and shopping to those recipes is making it easier as well, since I know when I pull out the recipe, I’ve got everything I need for the dish.

I ordered a few books to help ensure I had a great supply of Clean recipes:

Image

I ordered them from Amazon on Tuesday, and with the free shipping, they were supposed to arrive next Wednesday.  Much to my surprise they arrived yesterday!  Makes me wonder why anyone will pay for the express shipping when the free shipping arrives just as quickly!

I’m hoping to get some time this weekend to go through them and find some more fantastic recipes to try. Anyone out there have a favourite Clean Eating recipe? Let me know, I’d love to add it to my “To Cook” list.

Tomorrow is my favourite day of the week…REST DAY…and it’s double great because it’s a holiday too, which means I get to sleep in!  Wohoo!

See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

