My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Getting Outside

on April 7, 2012

Today was a 3 mile run day for me.  I had decided that I was going to run outside today to change up my treadmill routine.  I needed to go early in the morning since I was getting my hair done at 9:30 and didn’t want to waste a good blow dry by wrecking it running 🙂 .  So, I was up at 7:30 and out the door shortly after. Let me tell you, there are lots of people who say treadmill running is the same as out door running.  As far as I’m concerned…that’s crap!  It was only 3 miles and it sucked.  I had to stop a walk a few times, but in the end my time wasn’t too bad…36 minutes.  So, I guess when I did run, I was faster than I used to be.  I had been thinking about doing tomorrow’s 7 miles outside, but now I’m not too sure.  I suppose I should get out there since the race isn’t going to be on a treadmill!

Today was a good clean eating day.  Harvest Crunch for breakfast (I love that stuff!), leftover Mock Fried Rice for lunch, plus a Skinny Coconut Cupcake for dessert, and then 2 eat clean recipes for dinner.  The main course was Orange Chipotle Chicken from the Feb 2001 issue, and Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle dip from Clean Eating’s upcoming July issue.  They gave a sneak peak on their twitter feed.  Check it out:  http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/Recipes/Recipe/Sweet-Potato-Sticks-with-Creamy-Chipotle-Dipping-Sauce.aspx  The dip tastes just like the chipotle dip you get with sweet potato fries at restaurants. Creamy with a nice kick.

The chicken was quick and simple to prepare.  The chicken breasts are pounded thin, which makes them very quick to cook, but also gives lots of surface area for the delicious orange chipotle sauce to cling to!  Recipe details are here:  http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/Recipes/Recipe/Orange-Chipotle-Chicken-with-Cilantro-Rice.aspx

Image

I’ve got to run…going to see the Hunger Games!  I can’t wait to see it.  The books were so fantastic.  I’ve heard good things about the movie.  Have you seen it yet?  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

