My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

It’s a Popcorn for Dinner Kind of Night!

on April 11, 2012

Ever have one of those days when things just move so fast you feel you don’t have time to even think about what you do?  That’s the kind of day I had. From the second I got to work, until the second I walked out the door at the end of the day, it was go, go go.  It was busy, but good. Plus, since I didn’t get lunch, I left a bit early, which is always good!

The first thing I did when I got home – after checking homework and getting the kids set with their oh so nutritious dinner of Jamaican Patties and Pizza Pockets (yeah, I know…I’m not getting any Mother of the Year points tonight!) – was get changed and head down to the treadmill.  I was on a mission to have a good run.  I had 4 miles to do..which translates into 2 sitcom episodes on the iPad.  Tonight I watched the latest episodes of 2 Broke Girls and New Girl.  Overall it was a pretty good run.  I did hop off to the sides a few times to have a drink and when I needed to change shows.  I felt I may have cheated a bit doing this, so I actually ran extra half mile to make up for those breaks.

I noticed a few things on this run.

  1. I definitely need a bit of a warm up to get into it.  My ankles were achy for the first few minutes and it was a struggle to get in the groove, so I might need to walk a few minutes to get all the joints loosened up a bit.
  2. I think I may need to run a bit faster when doing treadmill runs.  I usually start out slow and then pick it up a bit for the middle which feels pretty good, but I think on the treadmill I might actually find it a bit easier to run a little faster than I usually do.  My “normal” speed is 5.5 mph.  That seems to be where I always end up after my warm-up, but it doesn’t feel easy.  Towards the end of my runs, usually with a half mile left, I tend to kick up the speed to 6 or sometimes higher, and this feels great.  I need to try this faster pace earlier in a run and see how it feels.
  3. Running is easier when done with a smile on your face!  I was getting towards the end of then run and just knowing it was going to be over soon, made me smile.  I don’t know if it was in my head or what, but my stride seemed to be easier, my breathing smoother, and it all just felt good.  I need to remember to smile earlier in the run 🙂

Now, the run is done, the kids are in bed and I need to find something to eat.  I think I am going to do something that is probably very frowned upon by nutritionists and dietitians…I’m going to have popcorn for dinner.  I’m going to pop it in coconut oil, so at least it’s going to be Clean popcorn!  I don’t make it a regular thing, so hopefully it doesn’t do too much damage!

Image

Tomorrow I’m supposed to run 3 miles, but I think I am going to take the day off.  Normally my long run day is Sunday, but this weekend I will be playing 3 games of hockey in a tournament, so probably not going to be able to fit that long run in.  Instead I’m going to do my long run Friday morning before we head out for the tourney.  That’s why I’m giving my legs a rest tomorrow, since they’ve got 8 miles to cover Friday morning.  I’m hoping the weather is good and I can run outside.  So far the forecast looks promising, sunny and 15 degrees celcius.  I’ve got my fingers crossed!

Okay, I’m off to enjoy my popcorn.  It’s my guilty pleasure.  Do you have any guilty pleasure dinners that you love?

Leave a Reply

