My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

What A Weekend!

on April 15, 2012

Holy cow!  What a weekend!  It was not my finest in terms of eating clean, but it was tops for fun!

I knew going in that food was going to be a challenge, but didn’t realize just how bad it was going to be.  Tracking everything I ate with My Fitness Pal was a bit of a shocking experience.  The calories quickly add up…especially when you add in all the beer I had!  Yikes!  I drank more calories each day than I am supposed to be eating.  Add in the food on top of that and it is not pretty.  I did get a bit of exercise, but there was no way that 3 games of hockey could make up for all the food and drink.  I am afraid to see what the damage actually is.  I’m not sure I will be able to bring myself to step on the scale tomorrow.  I may give myself a couple of days to work some of it off…although I’m kind of curious to see how going over my daily calorie consumption by so much for 3 days impacts my weight.

While all the food and drink did nothing for my pursuit of skinny jeans, the amount of fun, laughter and time with friends was perfect for my pursuit of happiness.  I had the BEST time.  We did not play our best hockey of the season.  We lost of first two games.  Between our second the third game, we did a bit of shopping, had a few pre-game beverages, ate some yummy food and then headed to game three.  The fact that there were a few beer being consumed in the dressing room before the game was probably an indicator that game three might not be our finest performance…but we actually played our best game!  We won 2-0 (I even got the games first goal!).  Here’s this year’s team picture…aren’t we a good looking group!

Image

The 2012 Corona Crushers

Friday and Saturday were both late nights, with the team all gathering in one of the hotel rooms and drinking until the wee hours of the morning.  I saw 3am both nights!  Crazy!  We laughed so hard my abs hurt.  Saturday afternoon I also did a push-up workout with my sister who is doing a 100 push-up challenge.  Between beer we all dropped to the floor and did 5 sets of push-ups…too funny!

So three games of hockey, 50 push-ups, about a thousand laughs, and a case of Corona later, I’m home, tired, and ready to jump back into my clean eating and running routine.  Tomorrow is a rest day in my training schedule and I’m going to need it to recover from my crazy weekend.  Tuesday will be my next run and I’m scheduled for 3.5 miles.  I’m looking forward to it.  Tomorrow I will go through my new Clean Eating cook books and pick out my recipes for the week.

All in all a super fun weekend, but I’m glad it’s over…I’m getting too old for this…But I’m already looking forward to next year!

Leave a Reply

