My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Back on the Clean Eating Train

on April 16, 2012

After my weekend of food, fun, and WAY too many beer, it is time to jump back on the Clean Eating Train.  I dug into my Clean Eating cookbooks and have my menu for the week:

  • Low Carb Spaghetti Squash
  • Baked Chicken and Asparagus Casserole
  • Potato and Turkey Skillet Supper
  • Chicken Almondine
  • Spinach and Chicken Sausage Pizza
  • Turkey and Chick Pea Burgers

I hit the grocery store, and I’ve got everything I need for a week’s worth of clean food.  Hopefully there are some leftovers for lunch.  I actually don’t really like having to go out for lunch at work because I don’t want to eat crap anymore and it’s tough to find Clean options close to my office.

One interesting place, that I only recently found, is the College of Naturopathic Medicine across the street from my office.  They have a cafeteria that serves many healthy options.  Today I took a walk over and I asked the woman behind the counter what my healthiest option would be.  She suggested the salad combination. She put together a nice plate of Fresh Kale Salad, Beet and Carrot Salad, Quinoa Salad, and Sweet Potato Noodle Salad.  It was delicious and a great way to get back into my Clean Eating routine.

Tomorrow I also get back to my training schedule after enjoying a day off today.  I’ve got 3.5 miles to run plus a core workout.  I’m going to have to run after work tomorrow as I’ve got to get my son to school by 7:30am for a ball hockey tournament his school team is playing in.  The only good thing about going into work early is getting to leave early 🙂  That should give me time to get my run in and hopefully have a quick snack before I go play my first ball hockey game of the season.   Ball hockey is such a great workout…can’t wait to get out there and sweat my ass off!  Hopefully all this running I’ve been doing will make ball hockey a little less painful.  Quite a few of my Corona Crusher ice hockey teammates also play on my Corona Crusher ball hockey team, so there should be quite a few laughs as we rehash stories from our tourney weekend.  Should be fun!

Okay, I’m off to bed. See you tomorrow…I’ll let you know how the first ball hockey game of the season went!

2 responses to “Back on the Clean Eating Train

  1. playfulpups says:

    I love the idea of a baked chicken and asparagus casserole!! Yummm!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

