My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Something’s Gotta Give.

on April 18, 2012

Another crazy day comes to an end.  I don’t know what’s going on that every day is a complete zoo, and I’m not sure when things might settle down.  All I know, is that something’s gotta give.  I really don’t think I can keep this pace up for much longer.

So, with this in mind, I am taking today as an unscheduled rest day.  I didn’t have time to run before work, since I had to get my son to school by 7:30am for his soccer try-outs.  Then I had a meeting tonight for my golf league and didn’t get home from that until 8:30pm.  I was originally thinking I would do tomorrow’s 2 miles tonight since I was crunched for time, and then do today’s 5 tomorrow instead when I don’t have anything scheduled after work and can hit the road for an after work relaxing run.  Well tomorrow’s 5 miles still seem like a good idea, but I just didn’t have it in me to do the 2 miles today.  So, I’m giving myself and break and not running today…and I’ve decided not to feel guilty about it.  So far I have done very well sticking to my schedule, completing just about all of my runs. Missing the odd run here and there is actually much better than I thought I would be doing.  Originally I figured if I got 4 of 5 runs in each week that would be good, and I’m way ahead of that, so it’s all good as far as I’m concerned.

I mentioned last week that I’m using visualization to help me get through my runs.  I’m a Cheetah!  I always think of my sister as a Gazelle, with her long, smooth stride.  I’ve got a friend, Kathy, who I call Jack Rabbit since she is so speedy.  She is actually training for the Buffalo Marathon that she will run the same day I run my half.   She is trying to help with my motivation and gives me little pointers every now and then, which is great, since she’s a much better runner than I am.  Today she sent me a cute little running video.  I thought it was awesome, so I’m sharing it here.  Enjoy!

I think it’s a cute little tune that they sing.  Maybe I will try to find it to add to my run tunes on my iPod.

I’m still looking for more good run tunes, so if you’ve got any that help keep you moving, I’d love to hear what they are.

 

4 responses to “Something’s Gotta Give.

  1. I have a few playlists listed on my blog, not sure if they are your thing though. What I like to do to help my visualize getting through a race is to map out my run on http://www.mapmyrun.com and when I go out and do that run I know exactly how many miles I’ve completed and how many to go. I just keep telling myself, it’ll take you longer to walk home than to just keep running. You’ll get doe faster. I hope this helps!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I will check your playlists for sure. I need to update my tunes in the worst way! Tonight I went out to run 5 miles and my ipod was dead. Thankfully I have Nobex radio app on my blackberry and just listened to a radio station whie I ran. it was good to hear some new tunes. i may try that again on the weekend. I will also check out mapmyrun. I did download it onto my BB, but for some reason I wasn’t able to get the gps part turned on to see how far or how fast I was going. I will have to play around with it a bit to figure it all out.

      Thanks for the tips!

      Like

      • If you can get the Nike + app you should do that. You can run and it maps your route AS YOU ARE running so you can look back and see your route. It also cuts in to the music and cheers you on, tells you your time and pace. It is awesome!

        Like

      • cathyo says:

        that sounds like just what I need! I will definitely look for it. If i can’t find it for BB, that’s one more reason to add to my list of why I want an iPhone! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

