My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Sensational Saturday

on April 21, 2012

Today was an absolutely great day!

My day started with a 4 mile run.  I had to run alone since my sister is still not feeling well, so wasn’t able to join me 😦  Despite having to run alone, overall it wasn’t too bad.  It wasn’t my fastest run, and I did walk a bit more than I would have liked, but I was still pretty happy with it.  When I did stop to walk, I didn’t beat myself over it, I just kept telling myself that I’m still going faster than everyone else sitting at home on a couch.  I’ve shown this picture before, but I’m showing it again since it helped me get through it today.

After my run, the next item on my agenda was to head down to Markham for the Links for Women Golf Expo sponsored by Callaway Golf for EWGA members.  This gave EWGA members the opportunity to try out the latest Callaway clubs designed specifically for women.  These aren’t just men’s clubs with shorter shafts, they are designed with women to make the most of our typically lower club head speed. I tried out a driver, a Razr  X Black with a 10.5 loft.  Man, this thing was AMAZING!  I was cranking them 200 yards plus and straight down the middle.  This was in a golf simulator, but still they were going further and straighter than I’ve ever hit in a simulator before.  I think I just may need to pick myself up one of these drivers!

After I hit the driver, I wanted to see what the irons were like.  There was a closest to the pin contest hole so I gave that a shot.  I ran into a little problem here.  They didn’t have any left handed 9 irons, so I had to use an 8 iron and all of my shots were going TOO FAR!  What a problem to have!  I definitely need to check out the full Callaway Razr X line.  Lucky for me, Callaway gave everyone who attended the expo a free fitting session at their Performance Centre.  Here they will do a full swing analysis and tell me what kind of shaft will be best for me, what loft my driver should have, and whether I need to adjust the lie of my clubs at all.  They will also take a look at the clubs that I play with now and see if they are the right set up for my swing.   I’m hoping they are, since I just bought a full set of Adams 705’s last year. Not sure I can justify new clubs again this year…we’ll have to see how they do at the Performance Centre.  I may need to save my pennies!

Tonight for dinner I made a Clean Eating recipe that was chosen by my hubby when we were flipping through the cookbooks looking for recipes last week.  He chose:

New Potato and Turkey Skillet (from The Best of Clean Eating 2 Cookbook)

You will need:
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1lb. ground Turkey Breast
  • sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste.
  • 1lb. new potatoes, scrubbed and quartered
  • pinch dried thyme
  • 3/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1lb swiss chard, thick stems removed, leaves chopped
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • pinch red chili flakes, or to taste
  • juice 1/2 lemon, plus four wedges for serving
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (about 2oz)
Image
Cooking Instructions:
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Coat a large (at least 12 inch) oven-proof skillet with cooking spray and heat on medium. Add turkey, season with salt and pepper and cook, breaking up meat with a spoon, until no pink is visible, 5 to 6 minutes. Transfer turkey to a bowl, returning skillet to heat.
  3. Add potatoes and thyme to hot skillet and season with salt and pepper. Transfer skillet to oven and cook until lightly browned and tender, about 20 minutes, stirring once. Carefully return skillet to stovetop on medium-high heat(leave oven at the same temperature). Add brothand bring to a simmer. Add chard and stir until just wilted. Stir in tomatoes, rosemary, chile flakes, lemon juice and reserved turkey. Ensure broth is simmering and transfer skillet back to oven. Cook until tomato skins burst, about 10 minutes, stirring halfway through. Divide mixture amoung 4 bowls and top evenly with feta. Serve immediately with lemon wedges.
Image
This was another delicious recipe.  Each serving (1 1/4 cup potato mixture and 2 tbsp feta) is only 271 calories.  Yummo!
I don’t have much planned for tonight.  We’ve rented an on demand movie for the kids and I’m planning to head to bed early to rest up for my 9 mile (14.5km) run tomorrow. My sister is still too sick to run with me, so I will be running alone for at least part of it.  I am hoping to be able to meet up with Jack Rabbit when she runs with her run group tomorrow.  She is running 23k, and I’m hoping to meet up with her for the last part of my run and the middle of hers.  Not sure if I will be able to coordinate it or not, but it will be nice if it works out.  Running with a friend is way more fun than running alone.
Do you have strategies to keep you head in the game when you run alone?  I’m still trying to find something that works for me.  And what is this runner’s high that I hear so much about?  I’m not sure I’ve ever experienced it.
Have a good night, all!
3 responses to “Sensational Saturday

  1. I love that saying or quote you have there. I pinned it on Pinterest. It makes me happy because you can have the worst run of your life but you are still lapping everyone on the couch — including me right now. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

