My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Speedy Me!

on April 24, 2012

After my rest day yesterday, it was back to the program today with 3 miles scheduled.  I set my alarm to get up and run before work, but when I went off, I just couldn’t drag my butt out of bed.  Instead, I turned off the alarm, and rolled over for another 45 minutes of sleep.  I knew this was not a very smart decision, but I’m so tired of being tired all the time, that I put more sleep ahead of my 3 miles.

So, since I chose sleep over a morning run, I had to figure out when I was going to fit it in, because I was not skipping it.  I was supposed to have a putting clinic after work with my golf league, and then go grab a bite to eat with a friend before heading to ball hockey at 8.  That meant I would be running after ball hockey. I was okay with that and had got my mind around that.  Then my putting clinic was cancelled because of bad weather (snow, freezing rain, hail), which freed up some time after work and before ball hockey.  Perfect!

In my new-found free time after work, I grabbed my iPod and headed down to the treadmill.  I would have preferred to run outside, but I was not going to torture myself by running in snow/rain/sleet.  I’m trying to be a runner, but I’m not a crazy runner…at least not yet!

Since it was only 3 miles, I had planned to try to run it faster than I would usually go.  I am not a fast runner at all.  I’m okay with being slow.  I’ve always been slow and I figured I would continue to be slow.  My sister recently put a different thought in my mind.  She told me that if I want to be able to run faster, then I need to run faster.  Sounds a bit obvious, but it clicked with me.  I’ve always gone slow.  I need to push myself and get out of my comfort zone and force myself to run faster.  The treadmill is a great tool for this.  I got on, did a couple of minutes of warm up and then just kept pushing the speed up higher and higher.  By the end, I was running at 7.5 mph.  That is crazy fast for me.  In total, it took me only 28:08 to run 3 miles.  That’s about 7 minutes faster than my usual 3 mile time.  It was hard and I definitely don’t think I could run a that pace out on the road, but hopefully if I do a couple more fast runs on the treadmill some of that speed will stick and my road running will become a bit faster.  Fingers crossed!

After my run, I mixed up a yummy strawberry smoothie to get some energy back in my system before I headed off to ball hockey.  I hadn’t had a smoothie in a while.  It was so good and hit the spot.  I need to make sure smoothies get added into by routine again.  Fat free yogurt, skim milk, frozen berries, a scoop of protein powder, and a bit of peanut butter…smoothie deliciousness.  Just now as I wrote that I realized I forgot to add one of my usual ingredients…flax seed.  I must remember to include it next time.  I pulled out my Magic Bullet and whipped it up in no time.  No excuse to not making these more often since they are so quick and easy and full of good nutrition.

Fueled by my smoothie, I was then out the door to go to my ball hockey game.  This is a great workout too. Very different from running since it is all sprints and quick starts and stops, but I think my running is helping my ball hockey, since I’m not getting winded as I sprint around out there.  Hopefully the sprinting will also be helping my running as well.  Even if it doesn’t, it’s still so much fun.  I play with a big group of friends, we drink beer in the parking lot after the games (I’m skipping the beer and just going for the conversation and laughs), and it’s just a fun night out.  It helps when we win too…which we have done both games so far this year.  Hopefully we can keep this up as the season progresses.

It’s now 11:26pm.  Another late night.  Try as I might to get to bed earlier and get more sleep, it just doesn’t seem to be happening.  So, still some work there. Oh well…I’m getting used to being tired.  In the words of Bon Jovi, I’ll sleep when I’m dead!

Good night, all.  I will leave you with this quote I found online.  I like it!

Leave a Reply

