My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Perfect Thursday Night

on April 26, 2012

Before I get to my perfect Thursday night, let’s recap my Thursday day.

My day started off early.  Up at 5:45 to run 4 miles, but also to wake up my oldest who is participating in his school’s 30 Hour Famine and needed to eat his last meal before 6am.  He was not thrilled to be getting up so early, but ate a bowl of cereal and then went back to bed for an hour or so.  Once I had him set up with his cereal, it was down to the treadmill to get those 4 miles out of the way.  At the time, it didn’t seem like a great run, but when I was finished, I realized that it kind of went by quickly.  I watched an episode of New Girl and one of 2 Broke Girls and then it was over!  I did pretty much the whole run at 6  mph, which was a bit hard, but not a giant struggle.  This makes me think that I just might be getting better at this running stuff!

Work was busy, as usual, with today being a longer day than normal.  Since Nick was doing the 30 Hour Famine, he would be sleeping over at school tonight.  His school day ends at 3:30, but they weren’t due for the sleep over until 6:30.  So, I picked him up at the end of the day and brought him back to my office to watch movies and surf the next on his laptop.  While he killed time until 6:30, I crossed a few more things off my to do list, which is good since most of my day tomorrow is taken up with meetings and conference calls.

After dropping Nick back off at school, I had a great drive home.  Since it was late, traffic coming out of the city wasn’t too bad and I flew home in no time at all.  My youngest was out watching a friend play lacrosse and hubby went out to watch the Senator/Ranger game at a bar with the guys, which left me home alone enjoying some quiet time…a rare occasion in my house!  It didn’t last too long, and soon enough the young one came home from lacrosse.  We watched a bit of tv, chatted about our days, and then he was off to bed.

I now sit, with a bowl of popcorn cooked in coconut oil (my new favourite snack), watching Grey’s Anatomy, and writing this post.  It’s kind of a perfect night.

The best part of my perfect night is going to when I head to bed knowing I don’t need to get up before the crack of dawn to run.  Tomorrow is Friday and that means REST DAY!!!

I hope your Thursday night was perfect.  Enjoy your Friday…I know I’m going to!

Leave a Reply

