My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Found a Dud

on April 30, 2012

Today is a rest day in my training schedule, and man, did I ever need it.  I am a bit stiff and achy after yesterday’s 10 miles/16km.  Mostly its my hip flexors  that are killing me.  I really have to figure out a good stretch for these as they have always been a problem spot for me.  Other than that, I’m just a bit tired, feeling pretty good, but very glad I didn’t need to run today.  I went to bed early (well, early for me) and got to sleep in a bit, so I got a good sleep – almost 7 hours, which is very rare for me.

Today I was trying another new Clean Eating recipe.  Tonight’s dish was Turkey and Chick Pea Burgers, from the Best of Clean Eating Cookbook.  They sounded pretty good and looked good in the picture, but this was one dish that I won’t be rushing to make again.  They were very easy to prepare and looked good, but just didn’t have the flavour that I have come to expect from all these clean recipes.  Hubs and the kids ate theirs like a real burger, on a bun, but I skipped the bun and had mine wrapped in a lettuce leaf.  It looked good, with a slice of havarti, some peppers and a bit of honey mustard.

Despite looking good, it was rather lacking in flavour and was a challenge to eat since it fell apart a bit more with every bite.  I think this recipe would be better with a bit more kick to it.  I’ll put the recipe here for you…maybe you will like it, if you do, let me know.

Ingredients:
1 15 oz can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 C scallions, roughly chopped
1 t ground cumin
1 t fresh ground black pepper
1/4 sea salt
2 T Worcestershire sauce
3/4 lb. ground turkey breast (12 oz)
olive oil cooking spray

Directions:

In a food processor, combine chickpeas, scallions, cumin, pepper, salt and Worcestershire sauce. Pulse until smooth.  Transfer chick pea mixture to a large mixing bowl. Add turkey and mix by hand until combined. Divide turkey-chick pea mixture into 4 equal portions, shaping each into a 3/4 inch patty. heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat skillet with cooking spray and cook patties for 4 to 6 minutes on each side. Serve on whole-wheat bun if desired, topped with spinach tomatoes, onions and dijon mustard.

I didn’t have any Worcestershire sauce, so I substituted some HP to give it a bit of flavour.  I’m pretty sure that wasn’t a huge in the outcome.  They were just blah.  If I do make them again, I think I will put a lot less chick peas, add in something to help them bind together better (an egg and some sort of bread crumbs), and really kick up the flavour with some garlic, maybe some crushed chili peppers, and a few more spices.

I didn’t even finish my burger, so maybe I’ll have a popcorn snack later tonight while I watch some tube.  Nurse Jackie is on tonight!  Love that show.

Tomorrow I’ve got 4 miles to run plus a core workout.  Better get to bed early so I can get up and run before work.  I may switch my core day to Thursday when I’ve only got 3 miles to run.  Tomorrow after work I’ve got my putting clinic that was postponed from last week and then ball hockey at 10 pm.  Another busy day!

Leave a Reply

