My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on May 4, 2012

I have been on my Clean Eating and Half Marathon Program for about 8 weeks now, and my blog is just about that old too.  During this time, I seem to have developed some new addictions.  Here are 5 of them:

1.  Searching for new recipes.  I don’t think a day has gone by that I haven’t picked up my cookbooks and magazines or checked out the Clean Eating Magazine website, looking for the next delicious meal for my family.  In my quest for healthy meals, I’ve discovered a few other great website resources, including:

  • Joyous Health http://www.joyoushealth.ca/ Joy McCarthy is a Toronto based Holistic Nutrition and Health Expert.  She is all about doing things that are good for your body and eliminating the bad.  She has great recipes and interesting articles.  I highly recommend you check it out.
I’ve got a couple more that I like to check out regularly.  I will share those some other time…Don’t want to give away all the good stuff in one post!

2.  Reading blog after blog after blog.  I’ve found some great blogs on WordPress.  Most of them are related to running or fitness, but many also include recipes for healthy meals.  A few of my favourites are:

  • Don’t Eat Crap:  http://donteatcrapblog.com/.  I stumbled upon this blog and love it.  Brianna shares recipes, workouts, and motivation as she lives life to the fullest.  It’s a great read.
  • Happier Healthier More Fit Me  http://happierhealthiermorefitme.wordpress.com/ This fantastic blog is written by my sister and shares her crazy life as she raises a todder and a newborn and works out like a mad women.  She is the fittest person I know and she is the one who convinced me to train for a half marathon with her.
  • Skinny Taste  http://www.skinnytaste.com/ – a great website that features low-fat, family friendly, healthy recipes.  Many of the recipes include weight watchers points values as well.
  • RunningHaiku http://runninghaiku.wordpress.com/ a cute blog where every post is in the form of a Haiku.  It’s an entertaining read.  Check it out!

3.  I’ve become a true tea totler.

I have never really drank tea before. I would have green tea when we went out for Chinese lunches at work, but now that I’ve discovered David’s Tea, I absolutely love having a cup of tea.  I have been enjoying a cup at work in the morning, and then another at home as I write my blog.  I need to head back to the tea shop and pick up a few more yummy flavours.  Any recommendations?

4.  I am obsessed with my running schedule.  I am constantly checking on what runs are coming up later in the week and checking off each run as I complete it.  I’m trying not to look ahead in my overall schedule since my Couch to Half Marathon app trainer, Trish Blackwell, recommended we just focus on where we are now.  I have taken quick peaks, but I’m taking each week as it comes in terms of the weekly video message and the core workouts.  Each week I look forward to seeing what  Trish has to say to get us motivated for the upcoming week.  She has been offering great advice along the way too: how to use nutrition on race day, setting goals, how to choose the right shoe, and other great bits of information like that.  She also has a great blog…check it out:  http://www.beautifulbodybistro.com/

5.  I am obsessed with tracking my eating, exercise and weight loss on My Fitness Pal.  This is a fantastic free app for smart phones and tablets.  There is also an online version at http://www.myfitnesspal.com/  The great thing about this app as it will sync across all devices.  Something you enter on your iPhone or Blackberry will be there the next time you check in through iPad or online. It has just about any food imaginable, and if it doesn’t, you can scan the barcode and it will find it and have all the nutritional information automatically.  You can also enter the ingredients of a recipe and the number of servings and it will calculate the calories per serving for you. It is really great.  You can connect with friends who are also using MyFitnessPal and share food diaries and send notes of encouragement. It’s just another way to keep accountable and stick to the plan.

Have you got any healthy obsessions?  I”d love to hear about them!

Happy Friday everyone!

Leave a Reply

