My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

on May 5, 2012

In honour of Cinco de Mayo I should be enjoying  my favourite beverage…Corona!  But, since I’m in training, I’m holding off, and will enjoy one (or maybe even 2!) on May 27 after my race.

Today was a run day.  3 short miles.  Ran it in just under 30 minutes again.  I’m loving these short runs.  They make me feel fast!  Tomorrow is a long, slow run day, with 10.5 miles (17km) on the schedule.  That’s just a bit farther than last week, which was a good run for me, so I’m hoping that this week goes just as well.  I’m not gonna lie, I’m a bit nervous about tomorrow’s run.  Last week I got to run with my sister and that kept me moving.  This week, my sister if off getting certified to teach Body Attack at GoodLife Fitness Clubs, so I’m on my own again this week.  I am going to do my best to stick to the plan of a short rest/walk after each mile.  Hopefully the Run Gods will be with me and I will be able to do it.  I’ll let you know how it goes in tomorrow’s post.

Today we went down to London for the afternoon to have a visit with my in-laws.  It was a great day for a drive, and a hike on the property of my in-laws house. The kids had a great time launching rocks with their sling shots and climbing the tree that fell across the river.  It was a successful afternoon with no one falling off the log into the water!

We got back from London just after 6:30 and then I had to figure out what to do for dinner.  I meant to take some chicken out before we left, but forgot.  So, I took a look at what was in the fridge and created a spaghetti squash concoction, and it turned out to be pretty tasty!    Here’s what I did:

  • Cook spaghetti squash in microwave until fork tender and squash separates into spaghetti-like strands (mine took about 15 minutes)
  • Saute 1 shallot, 1 green onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 orange pepper and 1 bunch of asparagus until tender
  • I had some left over tomato sauce and a jar of spaghetti sauce, so I added these to the frying pan and let simmer for a while
  • I threw in some chili flakes, basil, oregano and thyme into the pan just for fun.
  • When squash is cooked, use a fork to turn into “spaghetti”. Divide into 4 and top with the sauce.

So, tomorrow I’ve got 10.5 miles to run, and then I’m heading to a baby shower for one of the Corona Crushers.  We have been known to have a pretty crazy baby shower.  I set the bar pretty high when I hosted my sister’s shower a couple of years ago.  I had two coolers for of beer, wine and vodka coolers…and they drank it all.  It probably wasn’t your typical baby shower, but it sure was a good time!  So, although I didn’t have a Corona in honour of Cinco de Mayo today, I may have to enjoy just one at the baby shower tomorrow!

I hope you all had a great Saturday! Wish me luck on my run tomorrow…I’m gonna need all the positive mojo I can get!!

Leave a Reply

