My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I’m SO Tired!

on May 6, 2012

I had a busy day.

It started with a horrible 8 mile run.  It was supposed to be 10.5 but I picked the worst possible route for myself.  It looked good on gmaps pedometer, but it was hell to run.  The first couple of miles were okay, and then I hit a hill that went on for over a mile, and I walked all of it…dumb route item #1.  Then after the hill, I came to a busy road.  No problem, there is a bike lane that I would run in…but nope…bike lane didn’t start until one more crossroad north of where I got on, so I was dodging traffic for 2 miles, hoping onto the rough boulevard full of rock, ruts and bumps…dumb route item #2.  I ended up walking most of this part too.  Finally I got back to some sidewalk, but by then I was so pissed off that I had a hard time getting back into it.  When I finally did get to run again…it felt GREAT!  My stride was long and smooth, my pace was faster than normal and I felt like I was running tall.  I still ended up walking some of the rest of the run, but the parts that I ran felt really good.  I was supposed to go 10.5 miles, but after the disaster of the hill and the car-dodging section of my run, I decided to just go 8 miles, since I had to be somewhere shortly after noon and needed to be back home with enough time to get ready for that. In the end, I ran just over 8 miles, in 1:40.  This gives me an overall pace just slightly slower than last week’s great long run.  So, although today did not go according to plan, I’m not going to beat myself up over it. I had a bad run, but it’s over, at least I ran.  Tomorrow is a rest day (thank god) and Tuesday I will get back to it with a new determination.

After my run, I had a little bit of time before I had to go up to big, bad, Bradford for a baby shower for one of my Corona Crushers hockey pals, Joanne.  In true Crusher form, we were the rowdiest group there, drank the most beer (I treated myself to a nice, cold Corona!), and had the most laughs.  It was a great time, and Jo got lots of fantastic gifts for her little baby girl who is due in early June. We’ve got a pool going for birth date and weight.  Jack Rabbit has everyone’s pick in her phone, so we’ll see who wins.  

When I got home from the shower, my house was empty.  Kid 2 was at a birthday party, kid 1 was out for a bike ride with friends, and hubs was around the corner at our friend’s place having a few beer in the sunshine.  I went over to join him, then went to pick up kids from the bday party and headed back to our friends for an impromptu BBQ.  I enjoyed a home made cheeseburger on a whole wheat bun and it was fantastic!  

Today I had a beer, cake, and a cheeseburger.  Good thing I burned close to 900 calories on my run. I don’t feel guilty about eating a single thing today.  YUM!!!

After the BBQ I had a conference call with the president of my golf league and we organized the foursomes for our EWGA golf league opening event coming up on Tuesday.  We’ve got 49 ladies coming out for our shotgun opener.  I can’t wait to get back out on the course.  I’ve only been to the driving range twice so far this year, so hopefully things go well when I hit the links!  One of the goals that I set for myself is to shoot below 50 (for 9 holes) on a league night.  I think my lowest score for 9 holes so far on league night has been 53 of 54, so I’ve got some work to do.  I think it will be possible.  I’ve got to just take every shot as it comes, don’t dwell on the bad shots that I make (and I will make quite a few I’m sure!), and try to visualize my shots going where I want them to.  We play at RedCrest, which is part of Cardinal Golf Club.  http://www.cardinalgolfclub.com/golf/redcrest It is a beautiful course, but a tough course, and I can’t wait to get back out there for my weekly 9 holes. 

It’s now almost 11:30pm and I am so tired.  I’m off to bed in minutes, but really need to work on getting more sleep.  Thankfully I get to sleep in a bit since I don’t have to get up and run tomorrow 🙂  As usual, its was a busy weekend, but a good weekend.  only 5 more days until I get to do it all again!  

Hope you all had a great weekend to.  Here’s to a good week ahead!

2 responses to “I’m SO Tired!

  1. happierhealthiermorefitme says:

    Sorry your run was so crappy…I will join you again next week – on a different route! I’m looking forward to hearing all about the shower, wish I could have been there 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

