My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

New Inspiration

on May 9, 2012

I missed my post yesterday.  It was my EWGA opening night and it ran a bit late.  By the time I got home, I was exhausted so just took a bit of down time, watched some tube and went to bed.  It was great!

For our opening night, we had 50 ladies out for a 5pm shotgun start.  We played the front 9 of RedCrest, the premium course at Cardinal Golf Club.  http://www.cardinalgolfclub.com/golf/redcrest

redcrest

It was my first time on course this year.  I had been to the driving range twice, and things seemed to be okay there.  I am by no means a good golfer.  I’m quite horrible actually, but I really like it, and the girls that I play with are great.  One of my goals is to break 50 (for 9 holes) on league night.  Last year, on my best round I shot 53.  Last night in first round of the season, I shot a 52!  I’m thrilled.  I had a very good round, with only 2 really bad holes (a 9 and an 8, both on par 4’s).  My whole game was pretty solid (for a bad player!).  My drives were pretty straight, my putts were good (only one 3 putt), and my second shot, which is not my best shot, was working!  I had fun, enjoyed a few laughs with the friends in my foursome, and it didn’t rain on us, so it was a great night.  I’m looking forward to getting back out there next week and try to take 3 strokes off my round to break 50.

After golf I was supposed to run 3 miles.  I had actually planned to run in the morning, but when the alarm went off, I couldn’t drag my butt out of bed.  I should learn that I am not an early morning runner, and just give myself the extra hour of sleep.  I obviously need it.  Since I didn’t run before work, I needed to get my 3 miles in after golf…but that didn’t happen 😦  We ran a bit late at golf and by the time I was home it was late and I just didn’t feel like running.  Sitting on the couch and watching Nurse Jackie sounded like a much better plan.  So, I missed another run.  I think that makes it 3 so far for my whole program, which really isn’t too bad.  My goal was to run 4 of the 5 runs scheduled each week.  I am way ahead of that, so I think I’m doing okay.

Today, I admitted to myself that setting an alarm is a waste of time, and just slept in a bit.  It was great.  I still need to find a way to get more sleep.  Mostly that will involve going to bed earlier.  That doesn’t seem to be happening – it’s already after 11pm and here I am still writing my blog! Anyways, after an appointment I had after dinner, I came home, sat on the couch and thought seriously about blowing off tonight’s run too.  In the end, I couldn’t do it.  I wouldn’t let myself miss another run this week, so I got changed, grabbed my iPad to watch some tube while I ran, and headed down to the treadmill.  Forty short minutes later, 4 miles was done!  It wasn’t the most fun I’ve ever had, but they weren’t the worst ever!  I even did my core workout, which I had been neglecting the last few weeks.  I have vowed to get caught up on all the core workouts that I missed by the end of the weekend.  I see some ab hell in my near future!  Bring it on.

I saw something online today that has helped to keep me motivated for my race.  If this women can run a marathon, I should be able to complete a half marathon and not bitch about the training.  Read the article and watch the video to see how amazing Claire Lomas is.  Truly inspiring.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-17988108

Claire Lomas. Truly inspirational!


Leave a Reply

