My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Can Smell the Weekend!

on May 10, 2012

It’s Thursday night and the weekend is just around the corner.  One more day of work and then 2 days off…and I love days off!

Today was a busy day at work, and it flew by.  Once I got home, I got changed right away and headed down to the treadmill to get my 3 runs out-of-the-way before I parked my butt on the couch for the night.  Did you know that the Ramone’s “Hey Ho, Let’s go” has a perfect beat to run 7.5 mph.  I was running, trying to watch last week’s episode of Private Practice, but the CityTV app kept freezing and it was so irritating that I gave up and just listened to tunes.  My iPad was just on random and when the Ramone’s came on, the beat got me going and I kept cranking up the speed until I got to 7.5 and the beat matched my stride perfectly.  It was fun.  I put the song on repeat and listened to it a couple of times to get me to the end of my 3 miles.  This has just made me realize once again that I need to do some serious work on my race day playlist.  I need to get 2.5 hours of rocking, upbeat, keep-me-moving tunes.  I’m quickly running out of time to get that all organized.  I have a relatively quite weekend, so maybe I can devote some time to my race playlist.

After my 3 miles, I did another one of the core workouts that I missed.  3 circuits of 30 seconds back extensions, 30 seconds plank, 30 seconds leg lowers, 30 seconds bird dogs.  In total it was 6 minutes of ab work, but holy cow…what a workout.  I’ve got 2 more core workouts to do by Sunday.  I think I will take tomorrow as a true rest day and do one ab workout Saturday and the last one Sunday.

This weekend I have 2 runs to do.  One 3 mile short run, and my long run of the week, which is 12 miles!  My sister is able to run with me again this weekend, but only if I do my long run on Saturday.  Normally my long run day is Sunday, but she is teaching a Body Attack class at GoodLife Sunday morning, so that won’t work out for us.  So, Saturday is now long run day, and Sunday I will do a short recovery run of 3 miles to hopefully get some of the aches and pains that will no doubt show up after running 12 miles on Saturday.  I’m hoping that I will have a great long run like last time I ran with my sister.  I need a good run.  This is my last long run before the race.  Next week is the taper and I’m only running 6 easy miles.  So, I need a good long run this weekend to get me in the right frame of mind for the race.  I’m going to visualize the race like mad in the next two weeks and hopefully that will help get me through it too.

On a completely different note, I was watching tonight’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy on PVR while I wrote this post.  HOLY CRAP…can you believe that ending?  I was sure that was how they were going to end it for the season.  Thankfully, they showed previews of next week’s season finale, so I’ve got one more show to see how they are going to torture us through the summer, waiting to find out how things turn out next fall.  Man, I love TV!

Okay…it’s late and I should get some sleep.  Hope you all had a good day.  Tomorrow is Friday…wohoo!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

