My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Happy Mother’s Day!

on May 13, 2012

I had a great Mother’s Day.  Usually my Mother’s Day includes breakfast in bed.  Today, it started with presents in bed.  My kids and hubby got me a new driver…the Callaway Razr X Black that I tried and loved at the Callaway demo day I went to.  They had to special order it, since Golf Town doesn’t normally stock the ladies left hand in the 10.5 loft that I liked.  It should be here within 10 days and hopefully sooner.  I’m super pumped to try it out on course.  Can’t wait ’til it gets here!!!

My gift also included a reservation for the family at The Melting Pot restaurant down in Richmond Hill.  We have been to The Melting Pot in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and Sarasota, Florida and we recently just discovered that the chain had come to Toronto.  So, while I normally get breakfast in bed for Mother’s Day, Rory figured I would like to save my calories for dinner…and he was right!  I ate very little all day so I could have a fondue feast tonight!

To gain a few more calories, I went for a 3 mile run this morning.  Hubs decided he was going to come with me, and it was nice to have the company.  We made pretty good time for the first 2 miles despite my legs still being tight from yesterday.  I tried to stretch them out well before we headed out and they felt pretty good.  Hubs has a bad ankle that he sprained really badly a few years ago playing volleyball.  It still bothers him and after 2 miles he needed to walk because it hurt too badly.  I was okay with that, since my legs were still tired from yesterday’s 12 miles.  We ended up walking about half a mile and then we booted it home the last half mile.  It was a good run and it earned me another 375 calories for dinner tonight.

The rest of the day was spent sitting in the sun reading a book, shopping for some new shorts (my old ones are all too big!!!) and tops, and getting groceries for the week.  Very exciting stuff!  I ended up doing quite well at Old Navy getting 2 pairs of Bermuda shorts, 4 t-shirts, and 4 tank tops.  I am all set for summer now.  While we were at Old Navy we ran into some friends.  The kids thought it would be funny to jump into the display.  Can you tell the real kids from the mannequins?

When it came time for dinner, we all piled in the car and headed down to the restaurant.

We ended up getting the Classic dinner for 2 for Rory and I, and the kids each got a kids fondue meal.  There was no shortage of food, but with the kids helping us eat the cheese fondue and dessert fondue, it was just the right amount of food.  Dinner started with the cheese fondue.  We choose the fiesta cheese fondue, which is cheddar, salsa, jalapenos and beer.   The kid’s meal was only the main course, so they helped us eat the cheese fondue.  It came with veggies, apples, bread and tortilla chips to dip.  Delicious!

Following the cheese fondue course, Rory and I had salads with our meal.  Rory went with the Caesar salad and I chose a California Salad.  The boys once again helped us out, eating some of each of our salads.  Here’s my California salad…quite tasty!

We chose to have the vegetable bouillon rather than the oil, so it was actually quite a healthy meal.  Our meal came with shrimp, chicken, sesame beef, pepper encrusted Angus sirloin, and pork tenderloin.  It also came with some veggies:  mushroom caps, broccoli, and potatoes.  The kid’s meal had chicken, beef, shrimp and ravioli.  There was, once again, no shortage of food. Here is our Classic dinner meat plate:

We had a great time, cooking up the various meats and veggies.  The kids liked the rescue spoon, which we got to use quite a bit as things seemed to escape off the fondue forks quite a bit.

Perhaps the best part of the meal was the chocolate fondue dessert.  We went with the Flaming Turtle:  milk chocolate, caramel, and candies pecans, all flambéed table side.  This came with a plateful of delicious dessert items:  marshmallows rolled in Oreo crumbs and graham cracker crumbs, cheesecake, pound cake, bananas, pineapple, and strawberries.  Once again, the kids helped us out, eating some of the dessert for us.  This was probably a good thing, since there was no way I needed to eat half of all of these dishes.  Here’s the delicious chocolate fondue:

All in all, this was a great Mother’s Day and I thank Rory and the boys for such a fantastic day.  I couldn’t have asked for anything better.  Love you guys!

Tomorrow is a rest day in my training schedule, but I may try to go for a walk to help burn off some of these delicious calories.  Plus, it might be good for my legs to keep moving, but without the stress of running.  Hopefully I can get a little walk in tomorrow after dinner.  Fingers crossed!

I hope you all had a great day.  Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there.

By the way…only 14 days until race day!  Yikes!

Leave a Reply

