My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Action Packed Tuesday

on May 15, 2012

This is going to be short and sweet, because it has been a busy day and I’m exhausted and need to go to bed!

I was up at 5:45 am  and went for a 3 mile run.  I was scheduled to run 4 miles, but changed to 3 miles since I was going to be doing a lot today.  The run was good, but that strange pain high in my left leg is still there.  I will do some investigation online and see if I can figure out what hurts and how I can stretch it out.

After my run, it was home to get showered up and drive down to the city to drop my son off at school and then head to work.  I’ve got a lot going on at the office and the day flew by.  Especially since I needed to leave early to go get my son from school, drop him at home, and then head to the golf course for my 5pm tee off.  I played 9 holes with my EWGA league.  It was a beautiful day for golf.  I didn’t play as well as I did last week, shooting a 56.  I had 2 penalty strokes which didn’t help anything, but other than that, my game wasn’t too bad.  I seemed to find just about every bunker on the course, but managed to get out every time, so that was good.

After golf, I had time for a quick bite to eat in the club house (a delicious salad of mixed greens, watermelon, mango, chicken, and feta, with a raspberry vinaigrette, before I had to head to the arena for my ball hockey game.  We were playing one of the top teams in the league, so we knew it was going to be a good, hard-fought game.  We got off to a good start, taking a 1-0 lead early in the game.  I think we got another one, going up 2-0 before they got one back.  It was a really good game, and our goalie, who was filling in for our regular goalie who couldn’t make it tonight, played one of her best games.  In the end we won 4-3!  It was a good workout and tons of fun.

After the game a few of the girls stuck around for the traditional beer in the parking lot.  I stayed to enjoy the conversation, but did not partake in the beer.  I am quite impressed with my resolve to stick to my clean eating plan and avoiding any beer/alcohol until after the race.

Speaking of which, the race is only 12 days away!  It seems like just the other day I started my training.  Now, only 12 short days remain.  That’s awesome and scary at the same time.  Awesome, because all of my hard work will soon pay off and the race will be over.  Scary because in 12 days it will all come down to 13.1 final miles.  I have to trust that I will be ready.  I’ve worked hard on my training and have been eating well to get my body ready for the big day.  I think the one final piece to my preparation is to get more sleep in these next 12 days.  This is always a challenge for me.

On that note, I’m going to sign off and go to bed.  I’ve got an early morning tomorrow, but not with a run.  I need to get my son to school by 7:30 for his school team’s soccer practice, so we need to be out the door and on the road by 6:45 at the latest to make sure we get there in time.  The one good thing about the early morning is I have agreed to hit Starbucks for Chai Lattes on the way.  Mmmmmm…I can almost taste that first sip now.  Can’t wait.

Hope you all had a good day.  Night, night!

Leave a Reply

