My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Countdown is ON!!!

on May 18, 2012

It is May 17th…that means it’s only 10 days until RACE DAY!!!  When I started training back at the beginning of March, race day seemed to far away.  Now it is just around the corner.  I’ve got 6 more training runs left and then the race.  I can’t believe the end is almost here.  I’ve got one week left to get my head as ready for this run as my body is.  I’m going to spend the next 10 days thinking positive thoughts and visualizing the clock saying 2:30 as I cross the line.

Today I got back on track and went for my run.  I did 3.5 miles, in 36 minutes.  If I can manage to keep that pace for 13.1 miles, my pace calculator tells me that my half time will be 2:30:02…which is my goal time!  Holy cow…I just might do this!

Tomorrow is Friday, and you know what that means….REST DAY!  Wohoo!  I’m working half a day and then I’m going to the Callaway Performance centre to get fitted for golf clubs.

I’ve never had a fitting before, but know people who have and they say it really is a great process.  What I’m really looking forward to is finding out if the driver that hubby ordered is actually what I should be hitting.  I really hope so, and if not, I hope they let me trade it in on the driver I should be using.  I guess I will find out tomorrow!  Can’t wait.

After my golf fitting, I’m going to grab Nick from school and then we head home to pack up and get ready to head to the cottage for the long weekend.  Everyone is so excited to go to the cottage.  It will be our first trip up of the season.  Nick is excited to go because he got his “Pleasure Craft Operator Card” or boater’s licence last weekend.  This means he can operate a boat with a small motor on it himself.  He has big plans to get one of the old outboard motors out of the basement and get it running and onto the punt so he can motor around the lake all weekend.  Jackson is looking forward to going up because Rory always puts on a fireworks display on the long weekend.  He also just absolutely loves going to the cottage.  He loves everything about it….fishing off the dock, playing with all his cousins that will be up for the weekend as well, visiting with his grandparents, riding his bike around the point, playing in the park, and just generally enjoying the whole cottage life.  I’m looking forward to going up for some relaxation: time on the dock reading, hopefully sleeping in or maybe even having a nap, and getting in a few good runs.  I’ve got two runs to do this weekend..3 miles Saturday and 6 miles Sunday.  We’ve got cousins down the road who are runners, so I imagine if I ask for company they will be more than happy to join me on both of those runs.  The 3 miles I can definitely make on my own, but it might be nice to have a running partner for the 6 mile run.

Today as I headed out for my run, I grabbed my Garmin off the charger and was heading out the door when I realized that it wouldn’t turn on.  😦  I think it’s dead, and not just battery dead, I mean forever dead….and that sucks!  I was in a bit of a panic.  I like knowing how far I’ve gone, how long it has taken me, how many calories I’ve burned, and Garmin tells me all of that.  Since it wasn’t going to work today, I tried the MapMyRun app on my BlackBerry again.  Last time I tried it I couldn’t get it the GPS to work on it.  I played with a few settings in the application management part of BB’s options and that seemed to work!  I had GPS!  So, I turned it on, tucked it into the pouch on my FuelBelt and off I went.  When I got home I saved my run, and then logged in on my iPad.  Here’s how the run looks:

I think I might really like this app!  I’ll see how it works this weekend up at the cottage.  I’m still going to see if I can figure out what’s wrong with my Garmin.  It just worked on Tuesday.  Not too sure what could happen to it in two days as it just sits on the charger.  Oh well, at least I’ve got a back up now.

So, it’s now 12:09am and I am still up.  Not so good for the whole “get more sleep” goal. I’m catching up on my PVR’d shows and doing many loads of laundry so the kids have clean clothes for the weekend.  Only one more load to get into the washer and then I can go to bed.  I’ll throw it in the dryer in the morning.  I hate laundry.  Always have…always will.  🙂

I hope you all had a good Thursday.  Any of you hate laundry as much as I do?

Leave a Reply

