My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Living the Cottage Life!

on May 19, 2012

Today for the first time in I don’t know how long, I got to have a real sleep in.  It was awesome!  I woke up very early, as usual, but today, I just rolled over and went back to sleep.  At home I never seem to be able to do this.  There is always something going on or things to do.  But at the cottage, life is at a much slower pace, schedules are slack, and life is good.  So, when I woke up at 6:30, I just smiled, pulled the covers up, and rolled over.  I didn’t get out of bed until 10am.  It was heaven.  I didn’t sleep the whole time, but it was so nice to just lay in bed and rest.  Found this image online.  I don’t think I’m as bad as this…but I sure could be!

When I finally did get up, I put on my run gear, had a bagel and peanut butter and then hit the road for a 3 mile run.  I did a there and back along the lake road.  Man, I really should have gotten up earlier because it was HOT!  But I survived and would not trade my fantastic sleep in for a cooler run!

After the run, it was time for lunch.  My brother-in-law BBQ’d up some spicy Italian sausages. Not exactly on my clean eating plan, but not all that bad either, according to MyFitnessPal.  I skipped the bun, just had the sausage, and added some carrots and celery.  That sausage was delicious. Nice and spicy and I dipped it in some spicy mustard and had some caramelized onions too.  Delish!

We are in charge of dinner tomorrow night, so we headed into town to pick up a few things.  On the menu is chicken souvlaki and cucumber salad.  All clean, all delicious.  I also grabbed some whole wheat pita and a variety of hummus dips to have as a little appetizer.  I’ve got to remember to get everything marinating tomorrow afternoon!

Once we were back from town it was time for some of this:

Nothing beats sitting on the dock, watching the kids play in the water, and enjoying the sunshine.  It was a perfect afternoon.

Tonight, we had a fire and the kids roasted marshmallows and made S’mores.  I treated my self to a couple of s’mores too.  So gooey, so chocolaty, and so good!

Now I’m off to bed, since I’ve got 6 miles (10km) to run tomorrow morning.  I’m going at 8:30 before it gets too hot and I’m running with my friend Lianne.  She is my hubby’s cousin who has a cottage 3 places down from ours.  It will be nice to have someone to run with keep me company.  She’s a pretty good runner, so hopefully she can keep me moving for all 6 miles!

Hope you all had an awesome Saturday.  I sure did!

Leave a Reply

