My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Four!

on May 23, 2012

Four days until race day!

Today I got the call from Golf Town telling me my new driver was in!  After work, I swung by and picked it up.  It’s awesome!

I can’ wait to get out there and hit it, but that probably won’t be until my league night next Tuesday, since I’m a little busy this weekend!

Sticking with the golf theme…check out the latest book I got out of the library.

This is the book that Hank Haney wrote about his years as Tiger Wood’s coach.  Golf Digest and Twitter were abuzz before the release of the book as rumours and speculation about what Hank wrote flew around like mad.  There were a lot of negative comments before it was released.  Now that it has actually hit book stores, the reaction from people reading it seems to be positive (at least the ones that Hank replies to on Twitter!).  It’s supposed to be a very good read with many people saying they can’t put it down once they start.  Hopefully I will have some time this weekend as I’m resting up for the big race to sit and read a bit of it.

Tonight I got back on the Clean Eating train again, cooking a tasty clean meal for dinner – Curry Chicken with Zucchini & Cashews.  It was very easy to make and was pretty tasty.  Here’s what you do:

Ingredients
1/2 cup brown rice, cooked according to package directions
2 tsp safflower oil
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 can chickpeas, drained
2 zucchini, chopped
1 cup low sodium chicken broth
3 tbsp mild or hot red curry paste
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (I didn’t have any, so just skipped it!)
2 tbsp roasted unsalted cashews

Directions
Add oil and heat pan to medium-high heat. Add chicken and garlic, cook until golden brown. Add chickpeas to pan, stir to combine.  In a small bowl, whisk the chicken broth, curry paste, salt and pepper. Add to skillet and bring to a simmer. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until chicken is cooked through and sauce starts to thicken up.  Remove from heat and add cilantro.  Divide rice among bowls and spoon chicken mixture over top.  Top with  cashews and more cilantro, if desired.

The dish was pretty tasty, but next time I make it, I will do something to kick up the spice level and flavour just a bit.  I will try to find a curry paste that’s a bit hotter and may throw in some peanut butter to give it more of a peanut curry flavour.  As is the case with most Clean Eating recipes, there was lots left, so I’ve got lunch for tomorrow in the fridge and all set to grab as I run out the door for work!

After dinner I went for a 3 mile run.  I really didn’t feel like going, but hubs convinced me to go.  He actually came with me.  Overall the run was pretty good.  In the end it was about 3.35 miles, and took me 37 minutes.  Not rocket fast, but not too bad.  My weird hip/hamstring thing is still there and really kicks in when I go up hills, even gradual ones.  I’m supposed to run 3 more miles tomorrow and again on Saturday.  I’m not sure I am going to do both runs.  As of now, I think I’m going to run tomorrow, and then skip Saturday’s run to give my legs a bit of a rest before Sunday’s race.  I will try to go for a walk to get some exercise in if I can.  I also need to start thinking about what my food will be Friday and Saturday so I can get fuelled up for the big race.  I should try to look online and see what’s recommended.

To help with all the aches and pains that have been creeping up over the last 12 weeks of training, today I got a foam roller.  I have been hearing a lot of good things about these things, so figured I would give it a try.  My sister picked us each up one today when she was out getting a new Garmin since hers died and she wanted to have one for the run on Sunday.  The roller is a Trigger Point Performance “The Grid”.  It came with a laminated sheet that shows some of the ways to work on different muscles.  I will also look online for some other videos about how to use the roller.  Hopefully I will find something to help deal with this weird hamstring thing I’ve got going on.

Well, once again it has gotten late and I really should be in bed.  I am doing a horrible job of getting lots of rest leading up to race day.  Hopefully tomorrow I will do better.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

