My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

And Now What?

on May 28, 2012

Today is the “Day After”.  Yesterday was the half marathon and now I’m wondering what to do next.  I’m pretty sure my sister is going to get me to train for another run some time in the fall, but I don’t think we need to start back into it until a bit later in the summer.  So, now I need to figure out what I can do between now and when we start back into full-mode training again.

I’m hoping to keep running a couple of times a week.  Nothing too long, just 3 miles (5k) twice a week so I don’t have to start from scratch when the official training starts again.  I will also still be playing in my golf league for 9 holes every Tuesday and I will have my ball hockey game every Tuesday night.  Yet, I somehow don’t feel like this will be enough exercise to help me shed those last 5-6 lbs that I like to kick to the curb.

I have a full weight machine in the basement beside the treadmill.  Until now, it has been the place where the cat sat and watched while I ran on the treadmill.  I think maybe it’s time to actually use it and try to get stronger.  I think if I’m stronger it might make my running easier.

I have a few books with different workouts in them.

I am going to have another look at them and see which one seems to have the best looking workout.  On one of the blogs I read (donteatcrap blog), I learned about a book called The New Rules of Lifting for Women that made it sound like it might also be a good workout for me.  Here is the post that introduced me to the book:  http://donteatcrapblog.com/2012/05/13/the-new-rules-of-lifting-for-women/  I’ve placed a hold on the book from the library so I could take a look at it and see what it’s all about before I buy it.  I’ll spend the next few days going through the books and trying to make my decision.  If you have any good workouts, I’d love to hear about them.   I hope to add the weight lifting workouts to the routine starting next Monday.   I seem to have something going on tomorrow and Wednesday night, and then I’m away for a girls golf weekend, so Monday will be the first chance I have to get at it.

So, as the day after a race usually goes, I’m feeling a little stiff today.  I was forward thinking and had booked a massage for today.  It was awesome.  My quads are so tight…it kills to go up or down stairs.  Getting the massage hurt quite a bit, and I’m still a bit sore now, but I’m sure I will feel a bit better in the morning.  I sure hope so, I’ve got to walk around the golf course for 9 holes tomorrow and then go run around and play ball hockey!

One thing that seems to still be a challenge for me is getting more sleep.  It’s now already after 11pm and I’m still up.  I really need to work on that!

On that note…I’m signing off and heading to bed.  Good night, all!

Leave a Reply

