My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The 2012 Birdie Open: Weekend Re-cap

on June 3, 2012

The 2012 Birdie Open was held this past weekend at Sherkston Shores.  As usual, the event was hosted by Suzanne, with golfers coming from as far away as North Bay to compete for this very prestigious trophy.

Doesn’t that make it sound like my girls golf weekend is a very big deal?  It should, because it is a fantastic weekend!!

After meeting at Golf Town and everyone buying a few things, we headed down to the Niagara area Thursday early in the afternoon.  On the drive down, there was much talk about how bad the weather was supposed to be this weekend.  After a month of the most amazing weather, Mother Nature picked this weekend to dump a bunch of rain on the province.  Our original plan was to golf Friday at Hunters Pointe (formerly Lockness Links) and the Saturday at Peninsula Lakes.  Given that Friday now seemed to be a 100% chance of rain, and lots of it predicted to fall, we made a few calls and changed plans and golfed Thursday afternoon at Pen Lakes.

We tee’d off at 4pm, in 2 groups, and had a wonderful round.  Here is a shot of my weapons.  Doesn’t my new Callaway Razr X Black look great in there!

The weather was warm and sunny, although it did get a bit cool towards the end of the back 9 as the sun was starting to set.  We were all so happy to get in at least one round, since we still weren’t too sure about the weather for the rest of the weekend.

Peninsula Lakes has three 9 hole courses.  We played Quarry and Orchard.  My first 9 was great!  I shot a 53, which is right up there with what I have been shooting  at my ladies league, so I was pleased with that.  My back 9 was not nearly as good.  I shot a 64!  Horrible!  I found every sand trap on that back 9, with two 11’s that did not help my score at all.  Oh well.  It was my first full round of 18 of the year.  I guess I have to work on maintaining my game for the full 18 holes.  It’s hard, since I really don’t have much opportunity to play 18 holes that often.  I’ll have to see what I can do about getting more full 18 hole rounds in before my Chapter Championships for my EWGA league in July.

The Birdie Open is a two-day tournament.  We are assigned to teams each day, and although we play for individual low score, the total for the teams determines who the “Beer Bitches” for the night will be.  Highest team score means you will be responsible for serving drinks and dinner to the daily winners.  My team for the day was me, Rosanne, and Carol Ann.  We all had a great time and enjoyed being out on the course together.  Unfortunately, we had highest team score, which meant we were the beer bitches.  Luckily for us though, because we got off the course so late, we headed to a local pizzeria for pizza and chicken wings, and got back to the trailer rather late, so there wasn’t much time left for us to fulfill our duties!

The pizza and wings were really good.  It has been quite a while since I’ve had pizza and wings.  Neither are part of my clean eating regime, and the beer that went along with them isn’t on the plan either.  But, I knew going into the weekend that it wouldn’t be clean, so I’m not going to worry too much about what I ate.  I did enter most of it into My Fitness Pal, so it was easy to see just how bad all of this really was.  It’s amazing how quickly calories can add up.  Oh well….I will get back on the plan Monday.

Here are a few pics from Day 1:  me at Pen Lakes, my teammates Rosanne and Carol Ann, and the three of us in our Beer Bitch uniforms.

It was a good thing that we squeezed in a golf game Thursday, because it rained all day Friday.  We got up, had a great Belgian waffle breakfast and then got dressed with the initial plan to go shopping across the border.  We were all ready to go when someone asked why don’t we just stay in and play cards.  That seemed to be a great idea, so we all poured ourself a drink and had a Euchre tournament.  This was so much fun, despite the fact that I didn’t win.  I donated $40 to the winners!

Saturday, we were originally supposed to play Peninsula Lakes, but we were able to get Thursday tee times there, so switched our Saturday game to Hunters Pointe/Lockness Links.  My team to this round was me, Sandy D, Debbie and Sandy M.  I don’t have a team shot of us, but do have a nice shot of the back of our golf cart…Sandy drove and I rode shotgun.

The weather on Saturday was okay, not great, but we didn’t get rained on, so that was great.  The wind overnight was incredible, and it was still very windy when we arrived at the course.  There were still a few clouds in the sky and the threat of rain, but it managed to hold off.  We were all treated to a Bailey’s and Hot Chocolate by Rosanne to take with us out onto the course.  We were all bundled up in our rain gear, not because it was raining, but because it was freezing, so the Bailey’s helped to warm us up in that crazy wind.  In the end the rain held off for the whole round, the sun came out and on the back 9 we were able to take off a few layers and just play in our golf shorts and a light sweater.

My round on Saturday once again started off really well.  I shot a 50 on the front 9!  My back 9 was also pretty good with the exception of 2 holes.  I had a 10 and a 9, but other than that played some fairly decent golf (for me, anyways).  In the end, I shot a 109.  Not fantastic, but much better than the 117 I shot on Thursday.

After golf on Saturday, we headed back to Sherkston.  We started off our evening with and Italian Spritz.  This is a drink that Rosanne learned about when she went on a trip to Italy on March Break.  She brought back the special Aperol alcohol needed for the drink all the way from Italy and saved it special for Birdie Weekend.  The drink was a mix of Aperol, champagne, club soda, served with a slice of orange.  It was quite tasty and very refreshing.  Here’s Rosanne serving us up our cocktails.

Each year, the girls from North Bay bring us down some fresh pickerel from Lake Nipissing.  This year Debbie brought the fish and was responsible for cooking up the feast.  She had lots of helpers making sure the fish was cooked to perfection.

Saturday’s winning team was the green team of Rosanne, Sue, Janie and Carol Ann.  They thought they were pretty hot stuff and made up a cheer that they taunted with all night.  Here they are “performing” while the fish was cooking.  I think they maybe needed a bit more practice!

Today was awards day.  To win Birdie, you must have the lowest 2 round score of the group.  This year’s winner was Janie.  This is her first Birdie win, and she was thrilled!  Here she is receiving her trophy from our tournament host Suzanne.

Janie, proudly accepting her Birdie trophy.

Awards are also given for 2nd and 3rd place.  This year, those awards went to Carol Ann and Debbie (both previous winners of the Birdie Cup!)

Carol Ann, Janie, and Debbie. The big 3 at Birdie.

Shortly after the awards, and acceptance speech from the big winner, it was time to head home.  Another Birdie Open is in the books and as always, it was loads of fun.  A big thank you to Suzanne for hosting.  The Birdie really is a highlight of our golf season.  I’m already looking forward to next year’s event!

Leave a Reply

