My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Happy National Running Day!

on June 6, 2012

The first Wednesday of June is National Running Day.  I had no idea, until I saw something online.

So, in honour of National Running Day, it seemed only fitting that I get back out there for my first run since my half marathon 10 days ago.  Hubs joined me and we went for a 3.5 mile easy run.  I was kind of surprised…I didn’t hate it, and it wasn’t too hard.  I think until I figure out what my next race will be, I will try to run 3-4 miles a couple of times a week.  Nothing too long, just enough to keep the legs in shape until real training starts again.

One thing that has me a bit bummed is that my sister, who I run with and sign up for races with, likely has a stress fracture of a bone in her right foot, so she is not able to run for 6-8 weeks.  That sucks for her, since she is such an active person, not being able to do anything for 2 months is going to be torture for her.  This sucks for me since it means we won’t be able to run together for most of the summer like we had planned.   There’s a chance that she may not be able to get in enough training to do a fall half marathon like we were planning.  Our best bet now will be to find an October run and keep our fingers crossed.  She is due for a bone scan on the 18th, but hopefully will get in sooner so she can learn for sure just what is wrong with her foot.

I’m still hoping to add some weight training into my workout routine, but haven’t gotten there yet.  I’m still waiting for my “New Rules of Lifting for Women” book to come available from the library.  Hopefully it comes in over the next couple of day, so I can take it up to the cottage with me this weekend and read it while I sit on the dock.

My friend Toni thinks that I should also add Hot Yoga into my routine.  She has been doing it for a while now and absolutely loves it.  Plus, she says its making her strong.  To quote her, “you won’t believe the shit I can do these days.”  That sounds like a pretty good endorsement to me!  I did go with her one time to try it out and I really liked it.  I think I will have to look at the class availability and then build myself a workout schedule that includes running, weights and yoga and see how it looks.  Somewhere in there I need to leave time for sleep too!  🙂

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only person out there trying to balance work, family and fitness. How do you fit it all in?

Leave a Reply

