My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

My Weekend Reads

on June 7, 2012

We are heading to the cottage for the weekend and I have my iPad loaded up with a bunch of books that I hope to read at least some of as I sit on the dock and watch the kids play in the water.

Here’s what I’ve got lined up:

  1. Fifty Shades of Grey.  I have had this one for a while, but just haven’t had the time to read it yet.  So many of my friends have read it and tell me it  is quite the story, so I hope I get to start it this weekend.
  2. The Big Miss:  My Years Coaching Tiger Woods, by Hank Haney.  I’ve had this out from the library for a few weeks, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.  It is due back on Tuesday.  I’ve heard it is a quick read and that once you start, you can’t put it down.  I don’t know this yet, since I haven’t had a chance to even pick it up.  I managed to get my hands on an ebook copy, so hopefully I will get a chance to start it this weekend.
  3. The New Rules of Lifting for Women.  I learned about this book on one of the blogs I follow.  I am on the wait list at the library for this book, but it is taking forever to get to my spot on the list.  I managed to find this one in ebook format as well, so now I don’t need the library copy.  I started reading the first few pages of this one while I was waiting at the doctor’s office today.  The doc was actually right on time and I didn’t get a chance to read too much, but the few pages I did read make it seem like this will be an interesting view of how women should weight train.
  4. Many, many Cookbooks.  I have been scouring the internet for clean cookbooks.  I have managed to find quite a few so hope to flip through at least some of them and find some recipes that I can add into the Clean Cooking rotation.

Along with my iPad and all these books, I am also bringing my running gear with me.  I’m hoping to get out for one run around the point, which is about 4km or 2.5 miles.  It’s not that far at all, but I think it’s perfect.  I don’t want to do long runs yet.  I want to get to the point where I actually like running.  I think I skipped that in my training for my half.  I did the runs that I had to do and it got to be a bit of a chore. I’m hoping that by only running for short periods, I will start to look forward to running and eventually want to run further.

I just checked the forecast.  Friday and Sunday look good.  There’s a good chance it is going to rain on Saturday.  If that is the case, I will be reading my books while lying on the porch.  I’m flexible like that!

I’m hoping for a nice relaxing weekend.  Do you have anything exciting planned or are you hoping to just chill, like me?

Leave a Reply

