My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Sunny Sunday

on June 10, 2012

After a dull, grey day yesterday, today was a perfect cottage day. The weather was hot and sunny and we made the most of it.

We’ve got a slide at the cottage and the kids spend hours playing on it, jumping off of it, and actually using it as a slide sometimes.  When we got to the cottage on Friday night, we noticed a bunch of weird clumps of stuff all over it.  We finally got a chance to take a closer look today.  Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of it, but we think it was some kind of bug larva.  Anyways, much of the morning was spent scrubbing it off the slide so the kids could play on it this afternoon.

Once the slide was clean, the kids spent all afternoon playing in the water and on the slide.  Here are a few highlights of our afternoon.

Jumpin’ Jacko!

Jack must have jumped off the dock 20 times!  Here’s a video of one of his jumps.

We stayed at the cottage until 4pm or so, and headed home, but not before stopping to watch boats go through the locks and have an ice cream cone.  I didn’t really need an ice cream, but it sure was good!

I was a bit forward thinking before we left on Friday, and took out some pork kebabs to thaw in the fridge so we could enjoy them for dinner tonight.  They were “Mellow Yellow Pork Kebabs” from SupperWorks.  SupperWorks is a “meal assembly kitchen”.  Basically you go in and prepare fresh meals that you take home and put in the freezer, so that when you need them, they are all set to go.  I started using SupperWorks years ago.  I usually select 12 dinners, which I split in half, so come home with 24 meals that go in the freezer and are ready to go whenever I need them. I haven’t done a SupperWorks trip in quite a while….probably since March when I started to Eat Clean.  I don’t know why, because the meals that you make at SupperWorks are all made with fresh and natural ingredients.  They likely all fall into the Clean Eating world, so I should think about making another order.  Check out SupperWorks for yourself here:  http://www.supperworks.com/

Ingredients in the Mellow Yellow Pork Kebabs included cubed pork, plain yogurt, fresh cilantro, garlic, ginger, lime juice, cumin, coriander, turmeric and salt.  All clean ingredients.  The dish is quite calorie friendly, with a serving being 232 calories, 9 grams fat, 34 g protien, and only 2 g carbs.   I grilled up some zucchini and red onion for Rory and I, and had carrot stick and cucumber for the kids who are not big fans of zucchini. This was one very tasty dinner.  The kids loved it.

Tomorrow is Monday, and that means back to work, the chaos of kids at school, and the general insanity of life at our house.  One thing that I needs to get back on track in my life is my dedication to my clean eating and healthy diet.  I have been doing fairly well with my main meals, but it’s the unnecessary snacking that is killing me.  I need to get some willpower back and just stop eating those little bites here and there. They are all adding up and it’s not good.  How do you stay on track with your eating and avoid those killer snacks?  Feel free to send some willpower my way!

Hope you all had a great weekend and are ready for a great week ahead.

Leave a Reply

