My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Monday Night and it’s Time for Hockey Night in Canada

on June 11, 2012

Monday…back to work, back to reality.  Yuck!  But tonight it also means back to hockey!  We are a household of hockey players and fans.  Tonight is game 6 of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.  After winning the first 3 games in a row, LA has lost the last 2 games.  I am cheering for LA and my young guy Jack is cheering for New Jersey.  He likes Jersey because of their goalie…Martin Brodeur.

Jack is a huge Brodeur fan.  He’s got a life-size FatHead poster of Brodeur in his room.  Check it out…pretty cool, eh?

Poor Brodeur is not having a very good night, though.  At the end of the first period LA was up 3-0, with all 3 goals being scored on the Kings 5 minute power play. Now, less than 2 minutes into the 2nd period and it’s now 4-0.  Things are not looking good for Jersey.  Despite that, Jacko is still cheering hard for his man Brodeur.

After having a few rough days food-wise, today was a bit better, but just slightly.  I haven’t gone over my allowable calories fo the day, but my food choices could have still be much better.

  • Breakfast:  2 Pumpkin & Oat Ryvita crackers, 2 wedges Laughing Cow Light Cheese (total calories for the meal:  135)
  • Lunch:  Ikea roasted chicken and french fries.  (according to MyFitnessPal, the roasted chicken meal is 532 calories)
  • Dinner:  Homemade Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad (MyFitnessPal puts this at 370 calories, including croutons and dressing), 1/3 cup grapes (37 calories)
  • Snacks:  1 cup David’s Tea Coco Chai Rooibus (0 calories), 1 cup David’s Tea Forever Nuts (max 5 calories), 2 yogurt covered pretzels (48 calories)
  • Daily total: 1127 calories.  Finally within my range!

I’m only going to allow myself water until I go to bed so I stay where I am.

I need to spend some time with my cookbooks again and make a menu for the week.  Not being prepared or having a plan is killing me.  I don’t have any leftovers for lunch, which means I’ve got to go out to a restaurant.  Finding “clean” options while dining out is somewhat challenging, especially to do so without breaking the bank.  If I can get back to being organized and having my menu for the week planned out with the necessary groceries on hand, it makes everything easier.  I’m guaranteed tasty dinners as well as healthy leftovers for lunch the next day.  Hopefully tonight and tomorrow at lunch I can pick my meals, create a grocery list and then get back on track cooking on Wednesday.  Tomorrow night I am out for my golf league and then ball hockey game, so I will grab a green salad with grilled chicken at the club house before I head to the arena for ball hockey.

How do you keep on plan with a hectic schedule? 

Leave a Reply

