My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Golf, Ball Hockey, and Tea!

on June 12, 2012

Tuesday’s are  busy day for me…and I love them!

After fighting traffic into the city this morning, taking 1.5 hours to do a 35 minute drive, I dropped my son off (late) at school. This meant that I got to work late.  Today there really was no reason for such bad traffic – just bad drivers!  Do not drive into the car in front of you!!!  Pay attention people.

I used to stress about getting to work late. Then I realized, I get there when I get there and that’s all there is to it.  Today I did think a little about being late, since it’s my golf night and I would have to leave early.  I would just have to make my reduced hours very productive ones!  And I did, so it was all good!

I was a little worried about golf, since it was quite overcast and windy when I left work, to grab Nick from school and head home.  We actually drove through quite a downpour on the way out of the city, but by the time we got home, it was blue skies and sunshine.  It was a great evening to be out there.  It’s too bad my golf wasn’t the best.  Tonight I shot a 56, which I think is my worst score of the season.  I had three 8’s, and that does not do good things for the score.  Either does shooting a 6 on a par 3.  Despite the crap score, my putting wasn’t too bad and I had some really solid shots.  A couple of times I even hit it too far.  I seem to be connecting well and shots are generally going further than they used to, so I may need to re-evaluate my club distances, and maybe start taking one less club than I currently use.

After golf, I managed to stick to my plan and have a mixed green salad with grilled chicken.  I was really tempted to have some chicken wings or some sliders with sweet potato fries, but I was good.  The salad was good, but not all that filling since today they seemed to go light on the mixed greens.  In the end this was probably a blessing in disguise since after golf it was off to ball hockey and running around a hot arena, and a heavy meal would not have been a good thing.

Ball hockey was pretty fun. We won 4-0.  I got 3 assists, so that was good!  It was super hot in the arena, plus all the running made for a good sweat.  I like that.  It feels good to get a good sweat going…makes me feel like I’m getting a good workout.

I am now home from ball hockey and trying to get this post written so I can shower up and hit the sack.  Again, I am not doing well on getting more sleep.  Oh well…I’m getting good at running on less than 6 hours of sleep a night.  As I sit here typing, I’m enjoying a cup of tea.  Today at lunch I went to David’s Tea and stocked up on a few of my favourite flavours and a couple of new flavours too.  I’ve got quite a supply now:

The pic is a little blurry, but top left to bottom right are:  Coco Chai Rooibus, Forever Nuts, Organic Gold Rush, Brazillionaire, and Toasted Walnut.  Coco Chai Rooibus used to be my favourite flavour, but now I think it might be Forever Nuts.  All of them are just so delicious.  When I was in the store choosing my flavours today, both girls working behind the counter said that Forever Nuts was one of their favourite flavours too.  One of them gave me a great idea for the Forever Nuts…she says she brews her tea, and once it has steeped, she takes the nuts and add them to her oatmeal.  What a fantastic idea.  I am going to try that at work tomorrow morning.  Do you have a favourite tea flavour?  Let me know and I’ll add it to my list of flavours to sample.

Okay, it is now 11:55pm and I need to go to bed!  Hope you had a good Tuesday.  Tomorrow is hump day…hope it goes quickly!

Leave a Reply

