My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Clean Eating Deliciousness!

on June 18, 2012

OH MY GOD!  Tonight I had the most amazing Clean Eating dish that I’ve had so far.  And the best thing about it, I didn’t have to make it!

I had planned on making a casserole dish tonight, so I would have leftovers for the week for lunch.  I find if I don’t have leftovers and know what I will be eating during the day at work, I have a hard time sticking to my clean eating plan.  Today I didn’t have anything to take for lunch so I went over to the mall.  I had to pick a book up from the library, and figured I would grab lunch while I was there.  My colleague had a book to return to the library as well, so we headed over to the mall together.

We decided on Il Fornello since they were having a “summerlicious” type prix fixe lunch special this week.  We got seated, opened the menu and noticed we didn’t get the lunch special menu.  Turns out something happened and they are starting the special tomorrow, not today.  This sort of sucked a bit, since the usual lunch that I get when we got to Il Fornello (mixed green salad with fresh green olives, a lemon vinaigrette topped with a grilled chicken breast) is only part of the regular lunch menu and that wasn’t being offered today either.   In the end, I chose as a thin crust pizza.  It was delicious, but likely not so clean.  It was topped with spicy salami, black olives, chili’s and basil.  Yummo!  I showed some self-restraint and only ate half.  That reminds me the other half is in the fridge at work for lunch tomorrow.  I will have to decide what to have…leftover pizza or leftover casserole.  Tough call.

Anyways, back to dinner.  Rory ended up getting home much earlier than I did today.  He has a meeting that ended early, so he picked Nick up at school and headed home.  This worked out well, since I’ve got so many things going on at work, I could use the extra time to get some things crossed off my list.  In the end, I ended up leaving work about an hour later than usual.  Once Rory said he could get Nick, I mentioned that if he wanted, he could start dinner.  I pointed to him to the recipe and encouraged him to get started.

When I got home at 6:30, I walked in the door and the house smelled fantastic!  My timing was perfect, because the casserole was going to be ready in about 5 minutes.  I have to admit it was kind of nice coming home to dinner being ready.  I’m not sure it will happen that often, but it sure was a nice treat tonight.

Well, it turns out that the Clean Eating Ham, Cheese & Broccoli Bake (from Comfort Foods 2012) had quite a bit of prep work involved.  The recipe says its 10 minutes of hands on time.  Rory says, and I quote him “10 minutes my ass!”  I so wish I had my phone with me when he was explaining all the steps that he had to go through to get dinner ready. I was laughing so hard as he explained it:  this had to be chopped up and then roasted, that had to be shredded, then this, then that…yada, yada, yada!  Anyways, here is some of the kitchen carnage that resulted:  he had 2 food processors going (the mini and the “big” one – which is not really that big and I’d like to replace it with a full size one).

Regardless of how may pots and pans he had going on, dinner was delish!  Check it out:

This was a definite keeper meal.  See here for the recipe:  Eat Clean Ham, Cheese & Broccoli Casserole

The best part of the dinner:  6 leftover meals!  AWESOME!!!

This was definitely one of the best clean meals we have tried.  Whatever work was involved in the prep was definitely worth it!  Do you have a favourite clean recipe?  

Leave a Reply

