My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Kickin’ Back on Saturday

on June 24, 2012

Today was a pretty relaxed day.  I ended up having some unexpected time to myself.  I was dropping Nick off at Dave and Buster’s for a friend’s birthday party and they invited Jack to stay too.  At first I wasn’t too sure, but they insisted and Jack really wanted to stay, so I agreed.  That gave me 3 hours to kill.  I ended up going to Vaughan Mills and doing a bit of shopping.

I’m not a big fan of shopping, but I needed some new shorts, since my old ones are all a bit big now!  🙂   I found a couple of pairs at Roots that fit the bill quite nicely.  I didn’t have much luck finding a shirt to go with the one pair, so will have to hit another mall and see what I can find.

While at Vaughan Mills I hit Teaopia and grabbed a coconut tea.  It was good, but not as good as the ones I’ve got from David’s Tea.  I did find something neat at Teaopia though…its called a Tea Master.  It’s this tea steeper thingy.  Instead of putting the loose leaves in a tea ball, you just put it directly into the Tea Master, add water and let it steep.  Then, when it’s ready, you sit it on top of your mug and it presses on something, opening a valve and your tea comes out the bottom and the leaves remain in the Tea Master.  The “Tea Dudes” at the shop said that you can also reuse the tea, making 3-4 more cups of tea out of your leaves.  Who knew!  I always just make one cup and then dump the leaves out.  These guys claim that the second cup is even better than the first.  I tried it out with some David’s Tea Cinnamon Hearts tea.  I only wanted one cup, so not sure if the second cup thing is true.  I did throw some more water into it to get the pics here and it seemed to change into tea coloured water pretty quickly.  Check it out:

After picking up the kids from the party, I spent some quality time on the back deck reading, napping, and soaking up some sun.  It was really nice back there.  It’s too bad tomorrow isn’t supposed to be the same.  Still calling for rain, which sucks since it’s the golf tourney.  Oh well…they still have 12 hours or so to change the forecast, and 90% of the time they are wrong anyways!

I tried a new dinner again tonight.  Spicy Orange Chicken & Bok  Choy Over Brown Rice Noodles from June 2012 Clean Eating Magazine.  We have another winner!  Here’s the drill:

  • cook 6oz brown rice noodles according to the package directions
  • In a large skillet, heat 2 tsp safflower oil, and add 1lb of boneless chicken, cubed, and 2 cloves of chopped garlic.  Stir frequently for 3 minutes until golden brown
  • add 2 cups of chopped bok choy and cook, stirring frequently for 2 minutes
  • add 2 cups of drained mandarin oranges, 1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and fresh ground pepper to taste.  Mix well and bring to a simmer.
  • Cook, stirring frequently for 3-5 minutes until chicken is cooked through and oranges break down.
  • Remove from heat and stir in 1/4 cup chopped green onions and 2tbsp chopped fresh cilantro.
  • Serve over brown rice noodles.

Nutritional info:  per 1.5 cups chicken mixture and 1.5 oz noodles:  321 calories, 4g fat, 39g carbs, 4g fibre, 9g sugar, 32g protein.

It was delicious, the kids liked it and quite enjoyed playing with the noodles…creating FuManChu moustaches, tying knots in the pasta and slurping them in…all the fun things you aren’t supposed to do with your food.

Now, as usual, it’s late and I’m sitting here writing my blog and watching a movie.  I’m watching 50/50 with Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogan.  It’s pretty good, a bit sad, but good.  I like Seth Rogan.  It’s distracting me a bit, so this post has taken forever to write.  Oh well.  Another late night…I’m used to it.

So, tomorrow is the golf tourney.  I’m asking for the positive sunshine vibes again.  Seems to be a frequent request!  LOL.

Hope your Saturday was a good one.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

 

2 responses to “Kickin’ Back on Saturday

  1. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me says:

    That dinner looks awesome! Going to try it this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

