My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Dull Day in the Life

on June 25, 2012

Today was the most uneventful day that I’ve had in quite a while.  Work was busy, but that has become the norm these days.  I honestly don’t know when it will let up, but that’s a good thing.  I did not do any good clean eating cooking and didn’t even eat a proper dinner.  I was still pretty full from a dim sum lunch, and ended up just eating a few chocolate covered digestive cookies as my dinner.  Brutal!

On another note, I think I may have found a fall race to run!  So far, I am leaning towards the Niagara Falls Half Marathon, October 21, 2012.  See here for all the details:

Niagara Falls International Marathon, Half Marathon, 10K, 5K

According to the race website, this is mostly flat course, with a 55 foot drop over the last 3.5km.  All that sounds pretty good to me!

I will have to check with my sister and see if she thinks she can be able to race by then.  She is in a boot cast of the next 6 weeks for her stress fractures in her foot and tibia, and thought she would be good for a race towards the end of October.  If we pick this race, our hubbies and kids could come with us and we could hit up Great Wolf Lodge or the other big water park in Niagara and make it a bit of a family affair.

If I do run this race, I have 18 weeks to get ready.  I don’t want to start officially training yet, since I’m pretty sure by the time the race gets here I will have already peaked and be sick of running.  So, over the next few weeks, I will try to get back into running 2-3 times a week, but just short runs of 4-5km.  I also need to find a training program that has some speed work (tempos and track) as well as hills, which were two aspects of training that I think were missing from my last half schedule.  I’ve got a file full of programs on my computer at work, so I will have to look at them and see which one best meets the requirements.

So, it looks like I will be undertaking another “Pursuit”!  If you have a good half program I would love to see it.


 

3 responses to “A Dull Day in the Life

  1. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me says:

    I’m in! At least I hope to be! Love the idea of hitting up the water parks too! I’m all about making a mini vaycay out of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

