My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Tough Day in the Life!

on June 27, 2012

Today was a tough day.  I worked from home for the morning and then I had to go golfing this afternoon!  Next week, four of us from my office are participating in a client’s big fundraising golf tournament.  Last week, my boss decided that we should have a practice round before the tournament, and booked us a 1pm tee time for today.  Yeah, I’ve got a tough job…but somebody’s gotta do it!

My golf wasn’t too bad.  In typical fashion, there was some good, some bad, and some downright ugly!  My driver was working fairly well, and I had some great long shots with my fairway woods. My putting wasn’t too bad, but I didn’t get many first putts to sink and had a couple of 3 putts (I hate 3 putts!).  Oh well….it was still fun, and you know what they say…

Today was not a great day on the clean eating food front.  Today I ate:

  • Breakfast: Starbucks Chai Latte
  • Lunch: Subway 6 inch meatball sub on whole wheat
  • Dinner:  1/3 order of Cactus Cut Potatoes and an Individual Spicy Garlic Chicken Pizza at Boston Pizza
  • Snacks:  1 Corona after my round of golf
Hopefully tomorrow will be better, although I have my doubts!  We are going to a neighbourhood “School’s Out For Summer” pot luck BBQ.  Hopefully I will find something reasonably healthy to eat or at least keep the damage to a minimum!  My weight-loss has hit a bit of a wall these last few weeks and I’m sure not running and poor food choices have been a big factor.  The running is about to kick back up, and I need to make food choices a bigger priority.  Hopefully if I can get those 2 things back on track, the scale will start moving in the right direction again.

Aside from making the decision to run the Niagara Falls Half Marathon, I haven’t done anything else on the running front.  Work has been busy, so I haven’t had a chance to go through my files to see what training programs I’ve got on hand or look online for any other ones.  My sister thinks she will be ready to run again with enough time to train for an Oct 21 half, so we are going to do this again!  We’ve got 17 and a half weeks to prepare.  Wish us luck!

Have you started training for a fall race yet?  How’s it going?  

Leave a Reply

