My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Wild Weekend

on July 15, 2012

Holy cow….what a fun weekend!  We were up at the cottage and we had an absolutely great time.

Friday night we enjoyed a few beverages on the front lawn watching the traffic go by on the lake.  The kids were down the road at a friend’s cottage being “servers” at a dinner party hosted by one of the senior kids at sailing club.  My two boys, and their 4 cousins were invited to help the host’s brother and sister serve the older kids dinner.  My guys were so excited about being part of the dinner party.  From what I hear, they did a great job.

Saturday was another fantastic day.  It was hot and sunny and we made the most of it, spending pretty much the whole day outside.  Nick spent some time towing the other kids on an old-fashioned surf board type thing.  They all had a great time and I think Nick was quite proud that he was able to give everyone a fun ride.  Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of this…I did, but they were on my phone, which I dropped in the lake as I was helping the kids into and out of the punt.  The kids fished it out of the lake for me, and when it came out, it was still working!  I shut it down, took the battery out and put it in the sun to dry out.

After a bit, I put it in a bag of rice, since I’ve heard that helps to absorb the moisture.  It seems to have dried out nicely, but it doesn’t want to turn on.  There seems to be some life in it since the last time I tested it, when I put the battery in, a red light flashed for a second which makes me a bit hopeful.  I’ve got my fingers crossed.

So, I’ve been without a phone for about 30 hours…and I admit it feels weird not being connected.  I really hope that when I wake up in the morning it turns on and I will be good to go.  If it doesn’t, I don’t know what I should do.  I will need a new phone, and I really want an iPhone, but I want the new iPhone 5 and it isn’t coming out until October.  I’ll have to figure something out.  I wonder about getting my old BlackBerry Curve turned back on and using that for a few months until the new iPhone comes out.  Hopefully my Torch dries out and starts up again and I won’t have to worry about it.

Saturday night was the sailing club’s Non-Gala Gala.  We had a fun night, full of dancing and lots of beer and wine.  Parking was going to be very limited, so we rode our bikes down to the sailing club.  That was okay…my skirt was not really made for bike riding, but I made it!  The ride at 1am was a bit more challenging.  Many glasses of wine later and that was a pretty challenging ride home.  We made it, with only a few minor wobbles along the way.  It was a very good time, but boy were we tired today.

Today we went for a boat ride to watch the sailing races this afternoon.  We had friends and cousins racing, so we went out for a little tour and watched on of the races.  The kids always love getting out in the boat for a ride.

The kids once again lucked out and are staying up at the cottage for a few extra days with their cousins Christian and Thomas down the road.  They all get along so well and have such a great time when they get together.  They will all head off to sailing club for the mornings while they are there and then likely spend the afternoon swimming, tubing and just enjoying life at the cottage.  I’m so jealous…I get to head back to the office tomorrow!  Ugh.

Well, as usual it has gotten quite late, so I’ll sign off for now.  Hope you had a good weekend and here’s to a quick week ahead.

Cheers!

2 responses to “A Wild Weekend

  1. Tony Carbon says:

    If I was without my iPhone for 30 hours i’d go through withdrawals! I think I have my life on that thing! My wife has a bad habit of dropping hers in the toilet (twice and counting). LOL Glad the weekend was nice for you and the family!

    Tony – The Head Duffer

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Tony, I am definitely going through withdrawal. It is killing me not to text or bbm. i feel so out of touch. i’m really hoping that it turns back on today. fingers crossed 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

